2016 ADG award nominees unveiled across sixteen categories

12 April, 2016 by Staff Writer

ADG awards nominee Jennifer Peedom.


More than a third of nominees for this year's Australian Directors Guild awards are women.

Two of the four nominees in the Best Direction in a Feature Film category are women and all five films in the Best Documentary Feature category were directed or co-directed by female filmmakers, the ADG said in a statement. 

The 2016 awards will be presented across sixteen categories including film, television, animation, multiplatform, music and advertising. 

The nominees for Best Direction in a Feature Film are Sue Brooks for Looking for Grace, Jocelyn Moorhouse for The Dressmaker, Bentley Dean and Martin Butler for Tanna and Jeremy Sims for Last Cab to Darwin.

This year there are five nominations for Best Feature Documentary: Nick Bird and Eleanor Sharpe for Remembering The Man, Jennifer Peedom for Sherpa, Margot Nash for The Silences, Stefan Moore and Susan Lambert for Tyke Elephant Outlaw and Lisa Nicol for Wide Open Sky.

TV Drama nominees are Emma Freeman for Glitch: Series 1, Ep1; Fiona Banks for The Dr. Blake Mysteries: Series 3, Ep3; Kevin Carlin for Wentworth: Series 3, Ep1; Jeffrey Walker for Banished: Series 1, Ep7; and Shawn Seet for Love Child: Series 2, Ep 3.

Seet is also nominated in the TV Mini Series category for his work on Peter Allen – Not The Boy Next Door (Ep1). 

He is nominated alongside Michael Rymer for Deadline Gallipoli (Ep1), Peter Salmon for The Beautiful Lie (Ep6) and Kriv Stenders for The Principal (Ep1). 

House of Hancock, Mary – The Making of a Princess and Redfern Now – Promise Me are all nominated in the Telemovie category for Mark Joffe, Jennifer Leacey and Rachel Perkins respectively. 

The ADG Awards present three awards for documentary: Best Feature Documentary, Documentary Series and Documentary Stand Alone. 

Nominees for documentary series are Ivan O'Mahoney (Hitting Home Ep1), Cian O'Clery (Changing Minds: The Inside Story, Series 2, Ep2), Madeleine Parry (The Maddie Parry Series, Ep2) and Sally Aitken (The Great Australian Race Riot, Ep1). 

The Documentary Stand Alone nominations go to Sophie Wiesner (Call Me Dad), David Mason (Cast from the Storm), Sally Aitken (Getting Frank Gehry), Jane Manning (KaChing! Pokie Nation), and Darlene Johnson (The Redfern Story). 

The winners will be announced at the ADG Awards on Friday 6 May at the Sofitel Melbourne.