21 filmmakers shortlisted for $50,000 fellowship grant, Judy Davis chairs jury

23 March, 2016 by Staff Writer

(L – R) Judy Davis, Adrian Weimers, Nashen Moodley.


The Weinstein Company has shortlisted 21 Australian filmmakers for the Lexus Australian Short Film Fellowship, the largest cash fellowship for short film in Australia.

Judy Davis is presiding over the selection process as jury chair alongside jury members Nashen Moodley (Sydney Film Festival Director) Lexus Australia’s Adrian Weimers, and Australian producers Jan Chapman and Darren Dale. 

The jury will select select up to four filmmakers, each of whom will receive a $50,000 Fellowship grant. 

The four successful candidates will be announced at the Sydney Film Festival (June 8-19 2016).

The shortlisted filmmakers are:

Alex Murawski (NSW)

Alex Ryan (NSW)

Anya Beyersdorf (NSW)

Billie Pleffer (NSW)

Brooke Goldfinch (NSW)

Genevieve Clay-Smith (NSW)

Hazel Annikki Savolainen (NSW)

Gene Jacobie Gray (NSW)

Lucy Gaffy (NSW)

Tim Russell (NSW)

Venetia Taylor (NSW)

Dave Redman (VIC)

David Hansen (VIC)

James Vinson (VIC)

Victoria Thaine (VIC)

Mikey Hill (VIC)

Thomas Baricevic (VIC)

Erin Coates (WA)

Anna Nazzari (WA)

Eddie White (SA)

Stephen de Villiers (SA)

TWC chose 10 female and 11 male filmmakers from over 355 Australians who entered last year's Lexus Short Film Series.  

“It's an honour to be chosen as the first Jury Chair of the Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship", Davis said. "I'm very much looking forward to being part of the selection process and exploring the work of this new generation of Australian filmmakers.”

Sydney Film Festival Director Nashen Moodley said, “The Fellowship is delighted with the strong representation from Australian female filmmakers in this selection, as well as filmmakers from Western Australia, South Australia, New South Wales and Victoria.”

“These finalists are the highest calibre of emerging Australian talent. Many have screened at the world’s top film festivals including Cannes, Sundance and the Berlinale.  Others have worked with prolific filmmakers Baz Luhrmann, Spike Lee, and Emmy nominated producers Pamela Koffler (Boys Don’t Cry, Alice) and Christine Vachon (Boys Don’t Cry, Carol).”

“Among the finalists are also winners of many awards including the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Award, Australian Screen Editors Guild and Australian Writer’s Guild Awards, a NSW Young Australian of the Year, and winners of Sydney Film Festival’s own Dendy Awards,” he said.

The films made by the four winners will premiere at the 64th Sydney Film Festival in 2017.