Australian Directors Guild announces 2007 ADG winners

15 October, 2007 by IF
Executive Director of the ADG Drew MacRae and ADG President Ray Argall would like to congratulate the winners of the inaugural 2007 Australian Directors Guild Awards. The winners were announced at a glittering dinner held last night at Sydney’s Swissotel that was hosted by television and radio personality Julia Zemiro.
The ADG 2007 Awards dinner was held as part of the two day ADG Atlab Conference held from 13 to 14 October that featured Keynote speaker Brad Silberling via satellite from the US.
In congratulating the winners Drew MacRae said: ‘The Guild was overwhelmed with the number of entries received.  42 Directors were nominated in all, covering thirteen categories across a range of genres including feature film, television, documentary, music video, short film and television commercials. Through the awards the ADG is for the first time providing the opportunity for the work of Directors to be judged solely by their peers. The ADG are proud to provide this valuable opportunity to members, which will help build stronger relationships between Directors across Australia and promote the essential creative act of Direction.’
The ADG in collaboration with the Directors Guild of America (DGA) also offered for the first time an Award to an Australian feature without US distribution. This award allows the winner to have his movie screened as part of a special program in the US called the Directors Finders Series. It’s an incredible and unique opportunity for both a Director and their film to reach a broader audience in the US and is something that the ADG is very excited to provide to its members. The award was presented by Peter Garrett, AM, MP, Shadow Minister for the Arts to Kriv Stenders for his film Boxing Day.
2007 ADG Directors Awards
* Feature Film
Outstanding achievement in Feature Film
Darren Ashton, Razzle Dazzle
Cherie Nowlan, Clubland
Matthew Saville, Noise
Kriv Stenders, Boxing Day
Recipient: Matthew Saville, Noise
* ADG/DGA Finders Screening Award:
Tony Ayres, The Home Song Stories
Michael James Rowland, Lucky Miles
Kriv Stenders, Boxing Day
Dee McLachlan, The Jammed
Recipient: Kriv Stenders, Boxing Day
* Documentary
Best Direction in a Documentary – Series/Factual Entertainment/Natural History
Russell Vines, Eco House Challenge Episode 1
Catherine Marciniak, Life at 1
Alan Lindsay, Air Australia Episode 1
John Stainton, Ocean’s Deadliest
Recipient: Catherine Marciniak, for Life at 1
* Best Direction in a Documentary – Stand Alone
Mark Gould, The Winner’s Guide to the Nobel Peace Prize
Kim Mordaunt, Bomb Harvest
Chris Tuckfield, In Our Name
David Bradbury, Raul the Terrible
Tom Zubryckin, Temple of Dreams
Recipient: David Bradbury, Raul the Terrible
Special Mention: Mark Gould for The Winner’s Guide to the Nobel Peace Prize
* Music Video
Best Direction in a Music Video
David Barker, Get up Outta the Dirt – Butterfingers
Morgan Christie, Nothing Lasts Forever – The Living End
Paul Goldman and Alice Bell, Straight Lines – Silverchair
Recipient: David Barker, Get up Outta the Dirt – Butterfingers
* Short Film
Best Direction in a Short Film
Anthony Maras, Spike Up
Nash Edgerton, Spider
Tori Garrett, The Barrows
Erin White, Dugong
Recipient: Tori Garrett, for The Barrows
* Best Direction in a Student Short Film
Rebecca Parker, This Girl in the Desert
Dean Francis, Vermin
Julius Avery, End of Town
Recipient: Julius Avery, for End of Town
* First Assistant Director
Career Achievement Award for First Assistant Director
Recipient: Philip Hearnshaw
* Television
Best Direction in a Telemovie
Jessica Hobbs, Curtin
Ray Quint, Bastard Boys
Matthew Saville, The King
Recipient: Ray Quint, Bastard Boys
* Best Direction in a Television Comedy
Tony Rogers, Wilfred Ep 6
Will Usic, Stupid Stupid Man ’A very very private function’
Recipient: Tony Rogers for Wilfred Ep 6
* Best Direction in a Television Series (Periodical)
Ian Watson, Tripping Over, Episode 6
Graeme Burfoot , Two Twisted ’Call Back’
Kate Dennis, Love My Way ‘Cars Without Brakes’
Peter Andrikidis,  Blackjack ‘Ace Point Game’
Recipient: Ian Watson, for Tripping Over, Episode 6
* Best Direction in a Television Series (On Going)
Tony Krawitz, All Saints Ep 393 ‘Precious Moments’
Richard Jasek, McLeod’s Daughters Episode 177
Peter Fisk, All Saints Episode 380 ‘The Hearts of Men’
Recipient: Tony Krawitz, All Saints Ep 393 ‘Precious Moments’
* Television Commericals
Best Direction in a Television Commercial: Visual Narrative
Sean Meehan, Saboteur (MS Society)
Richard Gibson, Liquid Freedom ( Vodafone)
Damien Toogood, Go Places (CPA)
Julius Avery, Connex for Cancer (Connex)
Recipient: Sean Meehan for Saboteur (MS Society)
* Best Direction in a Television Commercial: Performance
Sean Meehan, Children See, Children Do, (NAPCAN)
Julius Avery, Double Bus (TAC)
Sean Byrne, Barry Hall ( Ford)
Recipient: Sean Meehan, Children See, Children Do, (NAPCAN)
[release from Amanda Buckworth Publicity]