Mad Max: Fury Road achieves record haul at Oscars

29 February, 2016 by Brian Karlovsky

Mad Max: Fury Road has become the most successful Australian film at the Oscars, taking home six statuettes from 10 nominations.

The record haul saw the film, directed by George Miller, overtake The Piano's previous mark of three Oscars in 1993.


The road rage epic took home awards for Production design (Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson), Film editing (Margaret Sixel), Costume Design (Jenny Beavan), Sound mixing (Ben Osmo),Sound editing (David White) and Make-up and Hairstyling (Lesley Vanderwalt, Damian Martin and Elka Wardega.

Despite the success, Miller missed out on a Best Director's nod with The Revenant's Alejandro González Iñárritu winning his second consecutive award.

Australian cinematographer, John Seale, also missed out to The Revenant's Emmanuel Lubezki.

The six oscars follows the 10 AACTAS that went Mad Max: Fury Road in December last year.

Screen Producers Australia chief executive, Matthew Deaner, said Australia was well represented at this year’s Academy Awards with fifteen nominations, of which ten were for Mad Max alone and Australia’s own David Hill co-producing the ceremony.

“This year’s record list of Academy Award nominations and Mad Max’s particular outstanding success, is a great accolade to the Australian screen industry," he said. 

"We congratulate all the nominees and winners.”

“These results are reflected across all aspects of screen production and evidence that our creative talent is world class, and made possible from an industry supported by targeted and competitive production incentives.” 

Australian nominees and winners

Nominated Best picture: George Miller and Doug Mitchell (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Nominated Best director: George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Nominated Best actress: Cate Blanchett (Carol)

Nominated Cinematography: John Seale (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Film editing: Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Production design: Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Best costume design: Jenny Beavan (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Nominated Visual effects: Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood and Dan Oliver (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Sound mixing: Ben Osmo (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Sound editing: David White (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Winner Make-up and hairstyling: Lesley Vanderwalt, Damian Martin and Elka Wardega (Mad Max: Fury Road)








  • Tracey

    Australia’s Peter Lawson was also an Executive Producer on Spotlight which won best picture.