UTS Golden Eye Awards winners

13 August, 2013 by Don Groves

Dylan Pope’s Meteor Marmalade took the prize for best film and video at the 13th UTS Golden Eye awards presented on Monday night.

The bi-annual awards showcase film, video, sound and new media work produced by the students of the UTS Media Arts & Production and Masters of Animation programs.


This year’s judges included Rosemary Blight, Keith Thompson, Dany Cooper, Steve Arnold, Antony Partos, Tom Zubricki, Megan Elliott, Tony Krawtiz and Susan Boehm.

Prizes and sponsorship worth more than $33,000 were presented to the winners in 18 categories. James Vaughan collected the directing and editing gong for You Like It, I Love It.  Best script went to Desmond Hoo for Black Dog Seduce Me.

Here is the full list of winners:

Cinematography  If I am Thinking I Exist  Alyson Rothwell and Tom Westley

Screen Music Screen composed for Alice’s Trip  Peewee Ferris

Production Design  Entropy   Diva Abrahamian

Script and Sound Design  Black Dog Seduce Me Desmond Hoo for Script and Jon Zhuang for Sound Design

Animation Salarymen Michael Shiao Chen

Documentary Searching the Sargasso Sea Leah Thompson

Experimental Re-HEAR-se Emma Watkins

Individual New Media Aesop’s Current Affairs James Burrows

Best Collaborative New Media Not My Place Chantell Basiacik Jonathan Andrew, Alexandria Burnie, Jemma Nicoll

Stand Alone Sound Liseuese Karen E. Banks

Winner Daniel Sawicki Prize for Best New Media Talent In Her Footsteps Emily Berry, Laura Murray, Renee Petropoulos, Joanne Lowry

Lawrie Fitzgerald Prize One Equivalence Luke Bacon

Lawrie Fitzgerald Prize Two Around We Go Vedrana Music

Best Overall Film & Video Meteor Marmalade Dylan Pope