The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today launched a social media campaign asking for audiences to share their favourite Australian film and television moments using the hashtag #LoveAusScreen.

The social media campaign is linked with a highlight segment of the upcoming broadcast of 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony (Network Ten, 29 January), which will include clips of iconic Australian film and television moments from various decades. A twitter feed of select audience favourite moments will feature during the segment.

Just some of the moments expected to be included are Muriel marching down the aisle in Muriel’s Wedding, Paul Hogan’s infamous ‘That’s not a knife’ scene in Crocodile Dundee, Scott and Charlene’s wedding on Neighbours, Nicole Kidman’s harrowing scenes in The Bangkok Hilton, Kath Day’s wedding to Kel Knight in Kath & Kim, Bea’s steam press incident in Prisoner, the I Will Survive act in The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, the car chase in Mad Max and the final wave in Gallipoli.

The campaign is also linked with a competition to win tickets to the AACTA Awards Ceremony and Official After Party. Entrants must tweet or post on Twitter or Facebook answering “what is your favourite Australian film or television moment and why” and must also use the official hashtag #LoveAusScreen. Entries close 12:00pm Monday January 26.

More Talent Announced for AACTA Awards

The AACTA Awards Ceremony, held in Sydney at The Star Event Centre, celebrate and honour Australia’s finest talents across film and television.

AACTA today announced more stars of the big and small screens presenting at the AACTA Awards Ceremony. Best Lead Actress nominees Mia Wasikowska (TRACKS), Sarah Snook (PREDESTINATION) and Essie Davis (THE BABADOOK) will present, along with Best Supporting Actress nominee Jacqueline McKenzie (THE WATER DIVINER) and CHARLIE’S COUNTRY cast members Luke Ford and David Gulpilil (who is nominated for Best Lead Actor).

The broadcast will also include a performance by ARIA Award winning, Sony Music Recording Artist, Samantha Jade. Jade starred in INXS – Never Tear Us Apart, which is up for four AACTA Awards, including Best Telefeature or Mini Series.

Guests attending the 4th AACTA Awards include Noni Hazlehurst (AFI | AACTA board member), Hamish Blake, Brooke Satchwell, Susie Porter and Ryan Corr.

Tickets to the 4th AACTA Awards are open to the general public and the screen industry:

Join the #LoveAusScreen conversation with AACTA on Twitter and Facebook.

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *