The Australian Cinematographers Society has announced the nominations for the 2013 ACS International Award for Cinematography. The award is to be announced at the ACS National Awards for Cinematography on Saturday, May 25 in Canberra. The nominees are:


Skyfall – Roger Deakins BSC ASC

Les Miserables – Danny Cohen BSC

The Artist – Guillaume Schiffman AFC

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Jeff Cronenweth ASC

Hugo – Robert Richardson ASC

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Hoyte van Hoytema FSF NSC

Prometheus – Dariusz Wolski ASC

The Dark Night Rises – Wally Pfister ASC


Hugo, The Artist and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo were the three films out of the ACS 2013 nominees to be nominated for last year’s Academy Award for Best Cinematography. Richardson (Hugo) took home the award over Schiffman (The Artist) and Cronenweth (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), also winning against Emmanuel Lubezki (The Tree of Life), and Janusz KamiÅ„ski (War Horse).

This year’s Academy Awards will see Deakins, as the sole ACS nominee for Skyfall, going up against Robert Richardson who has again been nominated, this time for Django Unchained. Their fellow nominees are Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi, Janusz Kaminski for Lincoln, and Seamus McGarvey for Anna Karenina.

The 85th annual Academy Awards take place ahead of the ACS National Cinematography Awards on February 24.

The ACS describes itself as a not-for-profit company, limited by guarantee, that was formed in 1958 for the purpose of providing a forum for cinematographers to further develop their skills through mutual co-operation.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *