ACS national awards to be held this weekend

27 April, 2011 by IF

Press release from ACS

The Australian Cinematographers Society is celebrating four decades of award-winning work behind the camera in feature films, documentaries, television drama and much more at the 40th ACS National Awards for Cinematography, to be presented at the Hotel Grand Chancellor, Hindley Street, Adelaide, on Saturday 30 April.


The internationally recognized, Australian cinematographer, John Seale OAM ACS ASC will be Guest of Honour.

The ACS National Executive have dedicated their 2011 National ACS awards for Cinematography to the memory of John Bowring ACS.

This year's awards ceremony, the biggest in the history of the society, will be marked by the induction of three more Australian filmmakers to the ACS Hall of Fame as well as a Special Contribution Award.

This will bring the number of Australian Cinematographers recognised in the Hall of Fame to 54, where they will join such internationally renowned camera people as Russell Boyd ACS ASC, Don McAlpine ACS ASC and Peter James ACS ASC.

However the highlight of the evening will be the much-anticipated announcement of the MILLI Award for Australian Cinematographer of the Year, with strong contenders from the past year's crop of feature films and a year of exceptionally strong television productions shot by ACS cinematographers.

Other awards to be presented include the ACS International Award for Cinematography which is open to all feature film cinematographers, the Neil Davis International News Award, the NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM ACS Award to an emerging cinematographer as well as 18 Golden Tripod Awards in categories from Student to Feature Film.

The glittering, black-tie ceremony, one of the highlights on Australia's show biz and screen industries calendars, will be broadcast on the Movie Network channel, STARPICS on Saturday, May 7 at 8.30pm.

Enquiries contact: