Adelaide Film Fest and AWG call for unproduced screenplays

06 April, 2017 by Staff Writer

Entries are open for the Adelaide Film Festival and the Australian Writers’ Guild’s biennial screenwriting development initiative, the INSITE Award – presented to the writer of a screenplay that hasn’t yet secured a producer or funding. 

Screenwriter Blake Ayshford’s screenplay Cut Snake was the inaugural winner of the award back in 2003. It was made into a feature film by Tony Ayres, premiering internationally at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival. 


The most recent winner was Harry Alteras for his script Martingale. The win saw Alteras inducted into the AWG’s Pathways Program. He also received a Scripted Ink-funded mentorship with Ayshford and development funding for a second draft.

“Since winning the 2015 INSITE award, Martingale has received a level of exposure and recognition that simply wouldn't be possible without the continued support of the Australian Writers' Guild and the Pathways Program,” said Alteras. 

AWG Executive Director Jacqueline Elaine said INSITE "celebrates and promotes the best of Australia’s screenwriting talent, uncovering great scripts and providing writers with the opportunity to have their work produced for the big screen.”

The 2017 winner will receive a minimum of three meetings with producers to discuss their script, as well as a three-day pass to the Adelaide Film Festival, including flights and accommodation. They will also be eligible for entry into the AWG’s Pathways Program. 

Entries are open until May 3. The winner will be announced during the Adelaide Film Festival, held from October 5–15. 

Previous winners include:

2003 – Blake Ayshford for Cut Snake

2005 – Cath Moore for Moving South

2007 – Priscilla Cameron and Heather Phillips for Salt

2009 – Ben Chessell for Writing Rain

2011 – Barbara Connell for The Unlikeliest Hero

2013 – Jane Hampson for Tigress

2015 – Harry Alteras for Martingale