ADG announces awards finalists

20 August, 2009 by IF

Press release from the ADG

The Australian Directors Guild today announced the nominees for its 2009 peer-assessed awards, celebrating the creative achievement of directors in film, television and new media platforms.


Winners will be announced at the Awards Dinner at the Star City Astral Room in Sydney on Thursday September 10, 2009. Tickets are available online at <>
There will also be four special achievement awards made on the night:
the Cecil Holmes Award for services to directors
the Michael Carson Award for excellence in TV drama production
the Outstanding Achievement Award for an outstanding body of work
the First Assistant Directors Award
Last year’s recipients were drama director Kate Woods, documentary maker Tom Zubrycki, animator Bruce Petty and First AD Mark Turnbull.
ADG President, Ray Argall, said: “We congratulate all the nominees on the great work they have produced this year and look forward to seeing them at next month’s Awards night.”
The nominees for the 2009 competitive awards are:
Directing for New Media Platforms             
Marcus Gillezeau                Scorched
Nick Pollack                         Continental Cup-a-Soup free cup campaign
Documentary (stand alone)
Amiel Courtin-Wilson        Cicada  
Bentley Dean                       Contact
Scott Hicks                           Glass: A portrait of Philip in Twelve Parts
Documentary (series)      
Brian McKenzie                  Ironing Man: Meet me at the Mango Tree
Kay Pavlou                           Armenia: Family Footsteps             
Rachel Perkins                  Freedom for our Lifetime: First Australians
Feature Film        
Serhat Caradee                 Cedar Boys          
Adam Elliot                          Mary and Max       
Glendyn Ivin                         Last Ride            
Rachel Ward                       Beautiful Kate
Music Clip            
Nash Edgerton                  Beyond Here Lies Nothing: Clip for Bob Dylan
Short Film            
Britt Arthur                            My Uncle Bluey    
Tim Dean                             Fences 
Anna McGrath                      Small Change     
Richard Vilensky                Liebermans in the Sky
Tony Ayres                           Saved    
Michael James Rowland   The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce
Tony Tilse                            Scorched             
Rowan Woods                  Three Acts of Murder          
TV Comedy Series            
Nathan Craig &
Earl Melville                        Love: Lawrence Leung’s Choose Your Own Adventure
Bradley Howard                 Episode 10: Newstopia
Alex Weinress                     Pack: Chandon Pictures
TV Drama Series              
Grant Brown                        The Brotherhood: UNDERBELLY: A Tale of Two Cities
Ian Gilmour                          Danger Zone: All Saints
Shawn Seet                         Business as Usual UNDERBELLY: A Tale of Two Cities
Jet Wilkinson                       Bloodlines: All Saints        
TV Mini Series    
Peter Andrikidis                 False Witness: False Witness
Grant Brown                        Boab Dreaming: Dirt Game            
Brendan Maher                  Down Among the Dead Men: Dirt Game
Ian Watson                          Carla Cametti PD
Ben Lawrence                     Pollards: Mitsubishi
Sean Meehan                      Separation: Quit Victoria
Steve Rogers                      Pure Waters: Boags Draught                                                                          
For further details and to book for the ADG Awards 2009, visit <>