Press release from AFI

Ten Australian screen performers and practitioners have been recognised with nominations for the 83rd Academy Awards®.

AFI Chair Alan Finney congratulated all of this year’s Australian Oscar® nominees on their achievement and wished them success at this year’s Academy Awards on February 27. “It’s fantastic to see so many Australians and films with Australian crew nominated for Oscars® again this year. It’s terrific that there are Australians nominated across the range of screen crafts and it’s really exciting that Australians have been nominated for their work on films developed and produced here in Australia.”

Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann, winners of the 2010 AFI Award for Best Short Animation for The Lost Thing along with producer Sophie Byrne, have been nominated for the Academy Award for Best Short (Animated).

“This is the second year running that an AFI Award winning short film has also picked up an Oscar® nomination. Luke Doolan’s 2009 AFI Award winner Miracle Fish was an Oscar® nominee last year. And who could forget AFI Award winner Adam Elliot’s Oscar® win for Harvie Krumpet in 2004!”

“Australian short filmmakers continue to achieve international recognition at festivals and awards around the world, especially the Oscars®, reaffirming the quality of Australian short fiction and short animation films and the talent and creativity of our filmmakers,” said Mr Finney.

Kirk Baxter has been nominated for Best Film Editing, together with co-editor Angus Wall, for The Social Network. This is Baxter’s second Academy Award nomination.

Visual effects specialists Tim Burke and Ben Snow have been nominated for their work on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and Iron Man 2 respectively.

“Australian screen technicians are renowned worldwide for their innovative skills and first-rate work. Our editors, cinematographers, sound designers, special effects and visual effects specialists have made a significant contribution to the world’s most successful film and television series.”

“Production houses like 2010 Byron Kennedy Award winner Animal Logic, Omnilab Media and Rising Sun Pictures, the latter recently recognised with a Technical Achievement Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, continue to be in demand internationally, proving that the technological talent and ingenuity of Australian screen practitioners is equal to our overseas colleagues,” continued Mr Finney.

Australian producers Iain Canning and Emile Sherman have been nominated for Best Picture for The King’s Speech together with fellow producer Gareth Unwin. Iain Canning and Emile Sherman have produced or co-produced a number of AFI Award nominated films including the acclaimed Candy and last year’s box office smash The Kings of Mykonos: Wog Boy 2. Sherman was also the executive producer of AFI Award winner Rabbit Proof Fence. The King’s Speech has received a total of 12 Academy Award® nominations.

Geoffrey Rush, recipient of the AFI Raymond Longford Award in 2009, has received his fourth Academy Award® nomination for his performance as Australian speech therapist Lionel Logue in The King’s Speech. Rush received both the AFI Award and the Oscar® for his star turn in Shine.
Nicole Kidman has been nominated for the third time for Best Actress in a Leading Role for Rabbit Hole. Kidman won an Academy Award® in 2003 for The Hours. Kidman has been nominated for five AFI Awards, including her win for the landmark mini-series Vietnam in 1988.

Following her AFI Award win for Animal Kingdom last December, Jacki Weaver, has now received an Academy Award® nomination for Best Actress in a Supporting Role.

Mr Finney noted that “this is only the second time the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have acknowledged an Australian actor’s performance in an Australian production with an Oscar® nomination.”

“It’s wonderful to see an AFI Award winning actor nominated for an Academy Award® for the same film. Last time, Geoffrey Rush won the AFI Award for Shine and then went onto the Golden Globe® Awards and Academy Awards®, taking the Oscar® home.”

“Jacki’s Oscar® nomination, richly deserved, is also recognition of writer/director David Michôd, producer Liz Watts, the cast and creative team of Animal Kingdom and we applaud them all,” said Mr Finney.

Weaver’s AFI Award for Best Lead Actress for Animal Kingdom was her third AFI Award win. Weaver won AFI Awards in 1972 and 1976 for her roles in Stork and Caddie respectively.

Animal Kingdom won 10 AFI Awards in December 2010, including the Samsung Mobile AFI Award for Best Film, the Macquarie AFI Award for Best Original Screenplay, Best Director, Best Lead Actor and Best Supporting Actor.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *