Press release from AFTRS

Graduates from the Australian Film Television and Radio School have been recognised for their outstanding work at some of the most prestigious film events around the world.

Kiss, written and directed by Alex Murawski and produced by Annmaree J Bell will screen as part of the Generation 14plus program at the 2012 Berlin International Film Festival in February. This is the second year running that an AFTRS film has been accepted, with Pig, directed by Tom McKeith representing the school in 2011.

On Sunday 15th January, the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) awarded AFTRS graduate Ivan Sen the highly coveted Byron Kennedy Award. This accolade celebrates outstanding creative enterprise within the film and television industries and is given to an individual or organisation whose work embodies innovation and the relentless pursuit of excellence. Sen was awarded for his unique artistic vision across his internationally heralded and award winning feature films Beneath Clouds, Yellow Fella and 2011’s Toomelah, which screened in Un Certain Regard at the Cannes Film Festival.

Sydney’s Flickerfest Short Film Festival, which is Academy® and BAFTA Award accredited, recognised two films made by teams of AFTRS graduates at their closing night ceremony on Sunday 15th January. The Avid Award for Best Editing in An Australian Short Film went to Peekaboo from writer/director Damien Power, producer Joe Weatherstone and editor Katie Flaxman, and Eli The Invincible received the SBS TV Award for a Film Chosen by SBS to Broadcast, from writer/director Miranda Nation and producer Dominic Allen.

AFTRS is proud to congratulate their graduates for their ongoing successes, and pursuit of film excellence around the world.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *