The Australian International Movie Convention has awarded filmmakers Emile Sherman and Yoram Gross, as well as actors Lincoln Lewis, Sophie Lowe and Maeve Dermody, at its closing night gala ceremony.

The closing ceremony was hosted by Todd McKenney at Jupiter’s Hotel & Casino, bringing the week-long event to a close. This year's event for exhibitors and distributors attracted 960 registered delegates, with more than 650 attending for the entire week.

Check out photos from the event here. The full list of award winners are:

News Limited Australian Star of the Year Award
Maeve Dermody (Griff the Invisible). Previous Star of the Year Award recipients include Russell Crowe (1993), Bill Hunter (1994), Geoffrey Rush (1997), Hugh Jackman (1999), Eric Bana (2000), Abbie Cornish (2005), Shane Jacobson (2007) and Jacki Weaver (2010).

Murray Forrest Award
Animation producer and director Yoram Gross, presented by Murray Forrest for achievement in film craft.

The Outstanding Industry Achievement Award
Academy-Award winning producer Emile Sherman (The King’s Speech, Oranges and Sunshine) – presented by Transmission Films co-founder and joint managing director Andrew Mackie.

Male Star of Tomorrow Award
Lincoln Lewis (Tomorrow, When the War Began) – presented by actor Anthony La Paglia, currently shooting Mental on the Gold Coast.

Female Star of Tomorrow Award
Sophie Lowe (Beautiful Kate) – presented by Rebecca Gibney, also shooting Mental.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *