Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales.

The 2016 Screen Music Awards took place at the City Recital Hall in Sydney last night.

Staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers), the event paid tribute to composers across 12 categories. 

Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales took out the Feature Film Score of the Year award for their work on 99 Homes. Partos also received the award for Best Soundtrack Album for his work on Jen Peedom's Sherpa, taking his Screen Music Awards total haul to 11 since 2004.

Composer Alan John received the Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie award for his work on ABC mini The Beautiful Lie, his fourth Screen Music Award. 

Best Television Theme went to composer Peter Cavallo for the string-laden opening theme for series Nos Youm, while husband and wife Darren and Sally Seltmann took out Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for their song Dancing in the Darkness (featured in ABC series The Letdown).

Roger Mason received his tenth Screen Music Award with his work on Essential Media's The Principal, winning Best Music for a Television Series or Serial. 

Sydney composer Caitlin Yeo won the award for Best Music for a Documentary for Getting Frank Gehry. Yeo received an APRA Professional Development Award in 2011.

Adam Moses took out his first Screen Music Award in the category of Best Music for a Short Film for Banana Boy. The 15-minute film, which was crowdfunded via Pozible, tells the story of Omid, a young refugee who will not speak, nor eat anything but bananas.

New York-based Jeremy Yang was also a first-time Screen Music Award recipient, with his work for the 2016 AICP (Association of Independent Commercial Producers) Opening named Best Music for an Advertisement. 

Composers Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin nabbed the Best Music for Children’s Television award for their collaboration on the animated series The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks.

For the ninth consecutive year, composer Neil Sutherland was named Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas, taking his overall tally of Screen Music Awards to 11. Composer Jay Stewart was the Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia and has now received this award eight times.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *