Aussies among first nominees for Asia Pacific Screen Awards

29 September, 2015 by Staff Writer

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards today announced the nominees in the youth, animation and documentary feature film categories for the 9th annual awards.

Also announced was the international jury who will determine the winners in these three categories before the November 26 ceremony at Brisbane’s City Hall.


The Australian contenders are Deane Taylor's Blinky Bill: The Movie and Molly Reynold's feature documentary Another Country,  in which David Gulpili  attempts to make sense of the contradictions of the modern Aboriginal experience.

The nominees for best youth feature are Mina Walking (Afghanistan, Canada), Set Me Free (Geo-in, Republic of Korea), A Corner of Heaven (Tiantang jiaoluo, People’s Republic of China, France), Mustang (Turkey, Qatar, France, Germany), and River (Gtsngbo, People’s Republic of China), a recipient of the APSA Academy Children’s Film Fund, written and directed by APSA Academy member Songtaijia.

Vying for best documentary feature are The Look of Silence (Indonesia, UK, Denmark, Finland, Norway),  Joshua Oppenheimer’s follow up to 2013 APSA best documentary winner The Act of Killing, The Chinese Mayor (People’s Republic of China), Among the Believers (Pakistan, US), Another Country (Australia), co-written by director Molly Reynolds with APSA Academy members David Gulpilil and Rolf de Heer, and A Flag Without a Country (Iraq).

Written and directed by APSA Academy member Bahman Ghobadi, A Flag Without a Country will have its world premiere at the Busan International Film Festival next week.

In the running for best animated feature film are Studio Ghibli’s When Marnie Was There and Keiichi Hara’s Miss Hokusai from Japan  Russia’s Snow Queen 2: The Snow King, Australia’s Blinky Bill: The Movie, directed by Deane Taylor, and Korea’s The Road Called Life.

The APSA youth, animation and documentary international jury will be chaired by writer/director/producer Shawkat Amin Korki (Iraqi Kurdistan), who won the 2015 APSA UNESCO Award for Memories on Stone. Korki will be joined on the jury by Yuka Sakano, head of international relations for the Kawakita Memorial Film Institute in Tokyo, and Sam Ho, a curator, researcher, teacher, writer and critic specialising in Hong Kong cinema.

The nominations in the categories of best feature film and five craft awards will be announced on October 21 at the Museum of Brisbane.



A Corner Of Heaven (Tiantang jiaoluo)
People’s Republic of China, France
Director: Miaoyan Zhang
Producers: Miaoyan Zhang, Guillaume de Seille

Mina Walking
Afghanistan, Canada
Director: Yosef Baraki
Producers: Andrew Korogyi, Asef Baraki

Turkey, Qatar, France, Germany
Director: Deniz Ergüven
Producer: Charles Gillibert
Co-Producers: Frank Henschke, Anja Uhland, Mine Vargi

River (Gtsngbo)
People’s Republic of China
Director: Sonthar Gyal
Producers: Alexandra Sun, Sangye

Set Me Free (Geo-in)
Republic of Korea
Director: KIM Tae-yong
Producer: PYUN Kyung-woo


Blinky Bill The Movie
Australia, India, Ireland
Director: Deane Taylor
Co-Directors: Alexs Stadermann, Noel Cleary, Alex Weight
Producers: Barbara Stephen, Jim Ballantine

Miss Hokusai (Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai)
Director: Keiichi Hara
Producers: Keiko Matsushita, Asako Nishikawa

The Road Called Life (Mae-mil-ggot, Un-su Jo-eun Nal, Geu-ri-go Bombom)
Republic of Korea
Director: AHN Jae-hun, HAN Hye-jin
Producer: LEE Sang-wook

The Snow Queen 2: The Snow King (Snezhnaya Koroleva 2: Snezhnyy Korol)
Russian Federation
Director: Aleksey Tsitsilin
Producer: Timur Bekmambetov
Produced By: Yuri Moskvin, Diana Yurinova

When Marnie Was There (Omoide no Marnie)
Director: Hiromasa Yonebayashi
Producer: Yoshiaki Nishimura


Among The Believers
Pakistan, United States of America
Director: Hemal Trivedi, Mohammed Ali Naqvi
Producers: Jonathan Goodman Levitt, Hemal Trivedi

Another Country
Director: Molly Reynolds
Producers: Molly Reynolds, Peter Djigirr, Rolf de Heer

The Chinese Mayor (Datong)
People's Republic of China
Director: Zhou Hao
Producer: Zhao Qi

The Look Of Silence (Senyap)
Indonesia, Denmark, Norway, Finland and UK
Director: Joshua Oppenheimer
Co-Director: Anonymous (Indonesian)
Producer: Signe Byrge Sorensen
Co-Producer: Anonymous (Indonesian), Kaarle Aho, Torstein Grude, Bjarte Morner Tveit

A Flag Without A Country
Producer: Bahman Ghobadi
Director: Bahman Ghobadi