Australian Directors’ Guild names Samantha Lang as president

30 November, 2015 by IF

The Australian Directors' Guild has appointed Samantha Lang as president – its second female president, after Gillian Armstrong.

Jeffrey Walker (Jack Irish), Jen Peedom (Sherpa) and Jonathan Brough (Time of Our Lives) will also join the Australian Directors' Guild board.


The ADG Board is comprised of members working as directors across feature film, television, documentary and digital content.

Australian Directors' Guild chief executive, Kingston Anderson, said the new directors were from a wide range of disciplines across feature film, television, documentary and digital.  

"I would like to thank outgoing directors Donald Crombie, Rebecca Barry and Anthony Lucas for their service to the Guild,” he said.

At the AGM the membership expressed its appreciation of the work of outgoing president Ray Argall with a unanimous vote of thanks.

Stephen Wallace, long time board member and President of the Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collection Agency (ASDACS), praised Argall's work over the past 10 years.

“There is no doubt that Ray Argall has been an engaged and vital part of the ADG’s success," Wallace said. 

"He has sacrificed so much and driven through our registration as a union. We are pleased he will be remaining on the board to provide his corporate knowledge to the new President.”

Samantha Lang said she was honoured to be elected.

"2015 has been a milestone year for the ADG, in terms of its accreditation as a union led by CEO Kingston Anderson, as well the impact made by the ADG’s WIFAC committee on positively influencing industry responses to gender imbalance in the sector," she said.

“Building on the legacy of past presidents, most recently, the formidable Ray Argall I hope to facilitate and chair the ADG’s continuing advocacy of screen directors’ contribution as co-creators in the screen production process within current and emerging platforms. 

"The ADG champions screen directors as producers of cultural and social capital and continues to support the conversation around appropriate copyright being attributed to their work.”

President – Samantha Lang

Secretary – Ray Argall

Treasurer – Stephen Wallace

Vice President Features – Nadia Tass

Vice President Television Drama & Comedy – Jonathan Brough

Vice President Documentary – Jennifer Peeedom

Vice President Digital – Michela Ledwidge

Director – Jeffrey Walker