Matchbox Pictures’ Nowhere Boys was named best children’s TV series and Mindful Media’s Redesign My Brain took the prizes for best factual series and best documentary, science, technology and the environment, at the 2014 Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM) awards.

The best docudrama gong went to Electric Pictures’ Enigma Man: A Stone Age Mystery in the awards presented at the VCA in Melbourne on Thursday night.

In other documentary categories, Scarlett Pictures’ Tender won the prize for general documentary, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder’s JFK: The Smoking Gun collected the history prize and Unicorn Films’ Aim High in Creation! won for social and political issues.

Best biography docu went to iKandy Films' 35 Letters and best arts docu was POP Pictures’ Sons and Mothers.

RocKwiz’s Brian Nankervis hosted the event attended by education and screen industry professionals, higher education students, screen funding body reps and sponsors. There were more than 600 entries from Australian and New Zealand media producers in 29 categories.

The full list of winners of the tertiary and general/open categories in the 2014 IP Awareness ATOM Awards:

Best Tertiary Animation
Crochet Noir, Jessica Harris,
School of Film and Television, Victorian College of the Arts

Best Tertiary Documentary
Life on Tape, Oscar Strangio, Swinburne TAFE

Best Tertiary Short Fiction
The Wonderful, Erin Good, Australian Film Television and Radio School

Best Educational/Training Resource (Primary/Secondary)
Cybersmart: Be Deadly Online, The ACMA

Best Instructional/Training Resource (Tertiary/General)
ACI Pain Management Network,
Limelight Creative Media and NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation

Best Indigenous Resource
Ringbalin: River Stories, Goodmorningbeautiful Films

Best Game / Multimedia Production
QED: Cosmo’s Casebook,
Australian Broadcasting Corporation and Education Services Australia

Best Short Fiction (50 minutes or less)
Grace Under Water, Anthony Lawrence, Plasmation

Best Experimental
Dorothy, David Ward, Swinburne University of Technology

Best Animation
The Gallant Captain, Katrina Mathers and Graeme Base, The Lampshade Collective

Best Music Video
Nightingale Floor, David Graham Barker, Aquarius Films and MiniSumo

Best Children’s Television Program
Nowhere Boys, Matchbox Pictures

Best Factual Television Series
Redesign My Brain, Paul Scott, Mindful Media

Best Documentary – Short Form (30 minutes or less)
How Do We Get to Space? The Story of the Love Punks and Satellite Sisters,
Big hART

Best Documentary – General
Tender, Lynette Wallworth, Scarlett Pictures

Best Documentary – History
JFK: The Smoking Gun, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder

Best Documentary – Social & Political Issues
Aim High in Creation!, Anna Broinowski and Lizzette Atkins, Unicorn Films Pty Ltd

Best Documentary – Science, Technology & the Environment
Redesign My Brain, Paul Scott, Mindful Media

Best Documentary – Biography
35 Letters, Janine Hosking, iKandy Films

Best Documentary – Arts
Sons and Mothers, Christopher Houghton and Louise Pascale, POP Pictures

Best Docudrama
Enigma Man: A Stone Age Mystery, Electric Pictures

Australian Teachers of Media in conjunction with IP Awareness, also announced the tertiary category winners of the 2014 My Story My Content Short Film Competition.

My Story My Content gives students the opportunity to make a 60-second short film or animation celebrating Australian screen creativity. The 2014 My Story My Content winners are:

Tertiary Students (or Equivalent) category

FIRST PRIZE: The Moving Image, Steph Comfort, Canberra Institute of Technology
AUDIENCE CHOICE: Reverie, Annette Phung, University of Technology, Sydney / University of New South Wales


Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. I was curious to find out how a series Nowhere Boys can win awards before it even goes to air? Maybe I missed something.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *