BAFF launches 2009 program

23 January, 2009 by IF

[Press Release by Miranda Brown Publicity]

The 2009 BigPond Adelaide Film Festival (BAFF) program was launched yesterday morning, January 22, by the Minister assisting the Premier of the Arts, Minister John Hill MP; Chairman Cheryl Bart and Festival Director, Katrina Sedgwick. at the Palace Nova East End Cinemas in Adelaide, one of the main venues for this year’s festival.


Taking place from 19 February to 1 March, the 2009 BigPond Adelaide Film Festival will present a dynamic program of screenings, special events, workshops and forums, which is expected to attract over 45,000 film lovers and film makers across its 11 day program.

Chairman Cheryl Bart said, ‘What could be better – kick back and enjoy a summer at home while you connect with the world through this extensive program of documentary and drama, comedy and action, ideas and entertainment– and get a snapshot of the issues and opinions of communities from all over the globe.’

Premier Mike Rann said, ‘Our film festival has achieved an enormous respect within the film industry in a short time. Part of the reason for that is because of the great gains this Festival has had in helping to develop our local film industry. To date, the film festival’s investment fund has contributed approximately $2.743 million to Australian films which has helped to secure further funding generating employment and growth in the industry. So rather than just passively screening films produced elsewhere, this film festival is quite unique in actually investing in films at every stage along the creative process. These broader impacts are critical to the festival’s original intent to foster and nourish creative talent.’

This festival, the fourth Adelaide Film Festival will present an astounding 23 world premieres and 62 Australian premieres.

Of the 38 Australian films which will screen, 9 new Australian features from established and emerging filmmakers, will have their world premiere at the festival, and 143 films from over 49 countries will screen through the festival’s duration.

The Minister assisting the Premier of the Arts, Minister John Hill MP announced producer Jan Chapman (Lantana, The Piano) as the recipient of the Don Dunstan Award, which is presented by the festival’s Board in recognition of outstanding contribution to the Australian film industry.

The 2009 BigPond Adelaide Film Festival not only showcases the best of international screen culture but also invests in new and innovative work through the AFF Investment Fund. Rolf de Heer’s Ten Canoes and Sarah Watt’s Look Both Ways are past successes that have been funded through the AFF Investment Fund. Twelve projects have been supported through the AFFIF for premiere in 2009. Sarah Watt’s highly anticipated new feature film, MY YEAR WITHOUT SEX will open the 2009 festival with Stephan Elliot’s EASY VIRTUE, starring Colin Firth, Kristin Scott Thomas and Jessica Biel, closing the festival after 10 packed days.

The 13 films in competition for the Natuzzi International Award for Best Feature Film were also announced this morning along with the seven member jury, headed by jury president Laurence Kardish, Senior Curator, Department of Film at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.