The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts is calling for recommendations for the AACTA Longford Lyell Award, the Academy’s highest honour for an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Australian screen industry and culture.

Known as the AFI | AACTA Raymond Longford Award since its inception in 1968, the name was changed this year to recognise Lottie Lyell, film pioneer  Longford’s partner in filmmaking and life.

Screenwriter/producer Andrew Knight was the first recipient at the 4th AACTA Awards in January. 

Those who wish to submit a recommendation should provide a letter detailing the prospective candidate's achievements, including a CV or brief filmography, and outlining why he or she should be considered for the award.

Recommendations should be emailed to awards manager Chloe Boulton by 5pm on Wednesday June 24.

In the first three years since the launch of AACTA in 2011, the award went to Don McAlpine, Al Clark and Jacki Weaver.

In her acceptance speech, Weaver argued the case to honour Lyell, who was Longford’s co-producer, co-writer or sole writer, film editor, production designer, and, mostly uncredited, his co-director. Weaver described the couple as “collaborators in heart and in art."

Previous recipients include Peter Weir, Geoffrey Rush, Fred Schepisi, Ken G. Hall, Tim Burstall, Jan Chapman, Jack Thompson and David Stratton.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *