The cast of ABC TV series ‘Pulse’. 

The casting directors of Don’t Tell, Hacksaw Ridge, Hounds of Love and Lion have been nominated in the feature film category of the Casting Guild of Australia Awards.

In the running for best casting for TV drama, miniseries and telemovie category are the casting directors of Glitch season 2, Pulse, Seven Types of Ambiguity and Top of the Lake: China Girl.

In contention for best TV comedy casting are series 2 of Here Come the Habibs! and The Family Law plus The Other Guy and Utopia.

The awards, which also cover the categories of short film, achievement in casting and TVCs, will be presented on Friday November 17 at the Sydney offices of lawyers Holding Redlich.

In addition, the CGA’s Sirius awards, which highlight emerging actors, will be announced on the night. Past honorees have included Katherine Langford, Mark Coles Smith, Shalom Brune-Franklin and Odessa Young.

The nominees for achievement in casting are Fountainhead Casting for Event Zero, Stevie Ray for High Life, Janine Snape for Jasper Jones and Macbeth and Emma Fleming  for Testament.

The nominees and winners are determined by CGA members. The hosts are yet to be revealed. Last year Danielle Cormack and Dave Eastgate were the MCs and the year before it was Sarah Snook and Ewen Leslie.

On its Facebook page the CGA highlighted the nomination of Mitchell Casting’s Amanda Mitchell for Pulse. “Diversity in casting has been a huge passion of mine, ever since my arrival from Singapore nearly two decades ago,” she said.

“My, how the landscape has changed, and I’m thrilled to be a part of this turning point for Australian film and television.”

See the full list of nominees:

Feature Film 
Don’t Tell, Ben Parkinson
Hacksaw Ridge, Nikki Barrett
Hounds of Love, Anousha Zarkesh
Lion, Kirsty McGregor

TV Drama, TV Miniseries & Telemovie
Glitch (Season 2), Alison Telford
Pulse (Season 1), Amanda Mitchell
Seven Types of Ambiguity, Alison Telford
Top Of The Lake: China Girl, Kirsty McGregor

TV Comedy
Here Come The Habibs (Season 2), Stevie Ray
The Family Law (Season 2), Tom McSweeney & David Newman
The Other Guy, Kirsty McGregor
Utopia, Kate Leonard (Original casting by Jane Kennedy)

Short Film
Banana Boy, David Newman
Dreamweaver, Daisy Hicks
Fysh, Danny Long
SOOP, Fountainhead Casting

Achievement in Casting 
Event Zero, Fountainhead Casting
High Life, Stevie Ray
Jasper Jones, Janine Snape
Macbeth, Janine Snape
Testament, Emma Fleming

TVC Finalists
“#youknow” Carefree, Joseph Wijangco
Air BnB – “Until We All Belong”, Natalie Jane Harvie
Airtasker – Like a Boss, Danny Long
Audible, Stevie Ray
Commbank – Multicultural Australians, Fountainhead Casting
Hungry Jacks “Keeping it real”, Nick Hamon
Foxtel – Foxtel Now, Natalie Jane Harvie
KFC, Danny Long
KFC “Shut Up and Take My Money” series, Fountainhead Casting
MLA “Australia Day”, Fountainhead Casting
“The Big Deal” Marriage Equality, Joseph Wijangco
“The Next Steps” Recognise TVC, Daisy Hicks

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *