The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts has announced that Cate Blanchett and Deborah Mailman will co-host the AACTA Awards, to be held on January 29, 2015.

Both actresses have a long history with the Awards, with Blanchett holding four AFI Awards and one AACTA Award, and Mailman also having won four Awards from AFI/AACTA. Blanchett also serves as the AFI | AACTA ambassador and has won an AACTA International Award for her role in Blue Jasmine.

In a statement released to the media, AACTA President Geoffrey Rush said: “I’ve had the privilege of working with both these outstanding performers. The AACTA Awards celebrate Australia’s finest, and who better to headline this annual bash than two fabulous women who have blazed like comets across our screens at home and abroad. I encourage everyone to tune in to see these performers at play.”

Cate Blanchett said: "It's an honour to host the 4th AACTA Awards with Deb, a shining light of Australian film and television. The AACTAs celebrate our nation's creativity and our talents as storytellers, and I'm proud to be part of this national celebration."

Deborah Mailman said: "I am thrilled to co-host the AACTA Awards with Cate. It will be a fabulous night and the culmination of a week-long celebration of excellence in film and television over the past year. These awards take pride in the effort and hard work of all who are part of our Australian film and television industry."

AACTA also announced that Adam Zwar will replace Angus Sampson as the host of the 4th AACTA Awards Luncheon, to be held on Tuesday 27 January, due to Sampson’s involvemebt in the second series of Fargo.

Adam Zwar said: “I'm honoured to be hosting the AACTA Awards Luncheon. My role is to make sure the right Awards get handed to the right people and everyone gets to the after-party on time. Now all I need to do is lose 5 kilos so I can fit into my tux.”

All winners will be revealed at two major events in Sydney in January: the 4th AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe on Tuesday 27 January; and the 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony & Official After Party on Thursday 29 January.

The 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony will be broadcast at 8:30pm on Network Ten on Thursday 29 January 2015.

View the 4th AACTA Awards nominees here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *