Cleverman, Game of Thrones designers in the running for APDG awards

28 October, 2016 by Harry Windsor

Eamon Farren and Amber McMahon in Girl Asleep.


George Miller will present the Cameron Creswell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Design at the 6th Annual Australian Production Design Guild Awards.

The event takes place on November 7 at Sydney’s NIDA, and celebrates the achievements of designers across 24 categories. New categories this year include Virtual Reality and Game Design.

The APDG will again acknowledge masters of the craft with three Industry Recognition Awards: The Cameron Creswell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Design, the Global Creatures Artisan Award for Lifetime Achievement in Live Performance and the Canal Road Film Centre Artisan Award for Lifetime Achievement. 

For the first time, the recipient of the Thelma Afford Theatre, Stage, TV or Film Costume Design Award will also be announced at the ceremony. 

Nominations include:

Production Design on a Feature Film: Jonathon Oxlade – Girl Asleep, Jo Ford – Holding The Man, Roger Ford a.p.d.g. – The Dressmaker and Elizabeth Mary Moore a.p.d.g – Backtrack

Costume Design on a Feature Film: Jonathon Oxlade – Girl Asleep, Margot Wilson a.p.d.g – The Daughter, Liz Palmer – Gods Of Egypt and Jennifer Irwin – Spear

Set Decoration for a Feature Film: Amy Baker – Girl Asleep, Rolland Pike – Holding The Man, Lisa Thompson – The Dressmaker and Nicki Gardiner a.p.d.g. – Gods of Egypt

Design for a Short Film or Music Clip: Alex Holmes – Whoever Was Using This Bed, Josephine Wagstaff – A Terrible Beauty, Sophie Hayward – Tanglewood and Kate Englefield – Little Boy Blue

Production for a Television Drama: Rob Wood – Cleverman, Felicity Abbott a.p.d.g – Secret City, Clayton Jauncey – Hunters and Emmy Award winning Deborah Riley – Game of Thrones

Costume Design for a Television Production: Edie Kurzer – Molly, Lisa Meagher – A Place To Call Home Season 3, Wendy Cork a.p.d.g. – Indian Summers Season 2 and Erin Roche – The Beautiful Lie

Title Design: Finnegan Spencer – Secret City, The Kingdom of Ludd – Getting Frank Gehry, The Kingdom of Ludd – Wolf Creek and Breeder – The Expanse

Drawing and Concept Illustration: Christina Smith – Voyage to the Moon, Ample Projects – Be The Light For The Wild Taronga, Vivid Sydney 2016, Gerhard Mozsi – Gods of Egypt and Oh Yeah Wow – Come Alive

Interactive, Virtual Reality or Game Design: Alt.vfx – Budget Direct: Ride with Risky, AIT Wormhole Galaxy, Ample Projects – Light Reactive Chameleon, Igor Nay & Sarah Stollman – VR Noir

Visual Effects Design: Scott Geersen – Australian Turf Club: The Tradition Continues, Iloura – Game of Thrones Battle of the Bastards Series 6 Episode 9, Iloura – Gods of Egypt, Alt.vfx – The Cemetery Quantam Break –Xbox

Make-Up, Hair, & Prosthetic Make-Up Design: Kath Brown, Simon Joseph, Troy Follington – Cleverman, Make-Up Effects Group – Backtrack, Make-Up Effects Group – Childhood’s End, Make-Up Effects Group – Telstra Giant.

The full list of nominees is here: