The AWGIE Awards continue to draw entries of the highest calibre to contend for the illustrious AWGIE Awards. As the only Australian awards judged exclusively on the writer’s intention, the script, the AWGIE Awards allow the writer’s vision to shine and their craftsmanship to inspire.

After 47 years, the AWGIE Awards continue to be the preeminent event honoring exceptional Australian performance writers and celebrating the talent and tenacity with which they tell our stories. The medium, through which these stories are told, changes but their capacity to dazzle never does. The 27 AWGIE Award categories include film, television, theatre, radio, interactive media, animation and documentary.

The Monte Miller Awards provide the platform through which the AWGIE Awards commend exciting new writing of merit. The popular and competitive categories for Monte Miller, long and short form, award outstanding unproduced scripts. Winners and nominees for the Monte Miller Awards will also be presented with the opportunity to link their talent with opportunity, by qualifying for the AWG’s Pathways Initiative.

In 2014 the Major Award went to Blake Ayshford, Shelley Birse and Justin Monjo for The Code. Other award recipients included: Matthew Cormack for 52 Tuesdays, Sally McKenzie for A Woman’s Journey Into Sex, Christy Dena for AUTHENTIC IN ALL CAPS, Andrew Bovell for The Secret River and Noëlle Janaczewska for My Life in Cookbooks.

“Every year the AWGIES celebrate performance writing at its best and in this, the 48th year of the AWGIES, performance writers from all fields will vie for the highest honours on the Guild’s night of nights. If history is anything to go by, the 48th annual AWGIE AWARDS will once again set the bar for Australian performance writing even higher.” Jan Sardi, President of the Australian Writers’ Guild.

Entries for the Monte Miller and AWGIE Awards are now open,  Please be aware that there will be no extension to the deadline for submissions in 2015.

Entries for the Monte Miller Categories close at 5pm on Monday,  March 3o. Entries for all other categories close at 5pm on Tuesday, April 7.

The 48th Annual AWGIE Awards will be presented in Sydney on Friday September 11. Award entry is open to full and associate financial members of the AWG. New members joining as part of the AWGIE Awards will have their joining fees waived and must only pay the annual fee.

To join the AWG please call the National Office call 1300 552 228.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *