Screenwriter Shelley Birse won the top prize at last year's AWGIE Awards for her work on 'The Code'. 

The Australian Writers’ Guild has opened up entries for the 50th annual AWGIE Awards.

The awards recognise and reward the outstanding achievements of Aussie storytellers and their contribution to our cultural landscape.

Shelley Birse, who won last year’s Major Award for penning the second season of the ABC's cyber thriller The Code, said the AWGIE Awards had ruined her life.

“I can't get more than three words of crippling self-doubt out before someone in my family walks to the bookshelf and brandishes the bronze statue my way," she said.

“To be given the nod from the writers I respect most in the world? I wish this kind of ruination for everyone.”

Other winners at last year’s awards included Angus Cerini for his Helpmann Award-winning play The Bleeding Tree; Leah Purcell for children’s series Ready For This, and Andrew Knight and Osamah Sami for the feature film Ali’s Wedding.

Craig Pearce also received a Lifetime Achievement Award, and Barry Humphries a special award for dedication and contribution to the industry.

The AWGIE Awards’ categories cover film, television, documentary, theatre, radio and interactive media. This year, all AWGIE Award entries can be completed online for the first time.

Entries close March 8. The Awards will be presented in Sydney on August 25. 

To enter, visit:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *