Filming underway on Seven Types of Ambiguity

25 April, 2016 by Staff Writer

Hugo Weaving as Dr Alex Klima in Seven Types of Ambiguity. Photo by Ben King.


Filming has started in Melbourne on Matchbox Pictures' six-part drama series Seven Types of Ambiguity for the ABC.

Based on a novel by Elliot Perlman, it stars Hugo Weaving, Xavier Samuel, Alex Dimitriades, Leeanna Walsman, Anthony Hayes, Andrea Demetriades and Susie Porter.

Seven Types of Ambiguity will be filmed on location in and around Melbourne and will air later this year on ABC TV.

Executive producers for Matchbox include Tony Ayres, Amanda Higgs and Jacquelin Perske.

The ABC executive producer is Christopher Gist and the producer is Amanda Higgs. 

The series is a psychological mystery that explores the complicated emotional terrain of relationships and the risks people will go to in the name of love. 

When seven-year-old Sam Marin is taken from school, his parents Anna (Leeanna Walsman) and Joe (Alex Dimitriades) are frantic.  

Hours later Sam’s found unharmed and after an initial investigation, the police arrest Simon Heywood (Xavier Samuel). 

But this is far from an open and shut case when it’s revealed that Simon is Anna’s ex-boyfriend and his suspected accomplice Angela (Andrea Demetriades), has a salacious connection to Joe.  

Before long, Simon’s psychiatrist and ally Dr Alex Klima (Hugo Weaving), barrister Gina Serkin (Susie Porter), and even Joe’s best mate Mitch (Anthony Hayes) are pulled into the mystery of uncovering just why Simon really took Sam. 

ABC TV acting head of fiction, Alastair McKinnon said he was delighted to have such a strong Australian cast to bring Perlman’s dazzling novel to Australian audiences.

Matchbox Pictures managing director, Chris Oliver-Taylor, said Matchbox Pictures was thrilled to be working alongside the ABC in adapting Perlman's rich and complex novel.  

"Elliot’s intriguing characters make for a truly compelling drama," he said.  

"The calibre of the team behind the camera, led by the amazing Tony Ayres and Amanda Higgs is matched only by the writing team, led by Jacqueline Perske with Jonathan Gavin and Marieke Hardy and the directing team that features the sublime talent of Glendyn Ivin, Ana Kokkinos and Matthew Saville”.

Seven Types of Ambiguity is a Matchbox Pictures Production in association with ABC TV.