Charlie’s Country, 52 Tuesdays and Maya the Bee Movie have all been nominated for awards at the 8th Asia Pacific Screen Awards, it was announced today.

Charlie’s Country led the pack with two nominations; one for David Gulpilil for Best Performance by an Actor and then another for Rolf de Heer, who was nominated in the Achievement in Directing category.

Sophie Hyde’s 52 Tuesdays is up for Best Youth Feature Film, while Maya the Bee Movie has received a nod for Best Animated Feature Film.

All in all, 36 different films from 21 Asia Pacific Countries are in the mix for the region’s highest film accolade.

Those in the running for Best Feature Film are Winter Sleep (Turkey, France,Germany), Leviathan (Russian Federation), I’m Not Angry (Islamic Republic of Iran), The Owners (Kazakhstan), and Memories on Stone (Iraqi Kurdistan).

Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Graham Quirk, made the announcment this morning, stating:  “It will be an honour for our city to welcome these talented filmmakers from all over the region to Brisbane’s King George Square and City Hall for the ceremony in December. This year marks the third year that APSA will take place in Brisbane and the city is very proud to host such an important international event that celebrates cinema and culture.”

Added APSA Chairman Michael Hawkins: ‘It comes as no surprise that 2014 sees the strongest APSA nominees to date. It has been an incredible year for films from Asia Pacific on the world stage and we look forward to celebrating these films within their own region, and with the region’s most prestigious award.”

All Nominees will be inducted into the APSA Academy by President Dr Jack Thompson AM.

The 2014 Asia Pacific Screen Awards ceremony will be held in Brisbane's City Hall on Thursday, 11 December.

See the full list of nominees here

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *