Press release from Kerry O’Brien Publicity

At a gala dinner at the Melbourne Convention Centre on Saturday night, Australian actor and international star Geoffrey Rush was awarded with the industry’s highest honour for his outstanding contribution to our screen environment and culture.

Geoffrey was the recipient of the newly-minted AFI Raymond Longford Award for outstanding achievement.

First presented in 1968, the AFI Raymond Longford Award, is the highest accolade that can be bestowed on an individual and recognises a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia’s screen environment and culture.

Some past winners of the prestigious AFI Raymond Longford Award include Tim Burstall, Peter Weir, Fred Schepisi, Dr George Miller, Jan Chapman, Charles ‘Bud’ Tingwell, Jack Thompson, Ray Barrett, Patricia Lowell and many more.

At home and abroad Geoffrey Rush is recognised by his peers as a first among equals. When it came to Hollywood’s greatest prize, he was the first Australian-born actor to win an Academy Award – and the only Australian actor to ever win it for a performance in an Australian film (Shine).
 The AFI also announced the winner for the 2009 AFI Award for Screen Content Innovation. The inaugural winner of this award is Gallipoli: The First Day (Sam Doust, Meena Tharmarajah, Astrid Scott). 
Also as part of the dinner, the feature film contenders for the 2009 AFI Awards were also revealed – to view the full list and their production details, click here.