Press release from 6dc

With just four weeks to go before the close of the Inside Film Awards craft category nominations, the people’s choice awards has attracted some of the top names in Australia’s screen industry.

Industry insiders including directors Rachel Ward and Gillian Armstrong, producer Bridget Ikin and Logie Award winner Ben Davies will judge the EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent and National Film & Sound Archive Independent Spirit Award.

The Inside Film Awards seek to help young filmmakers and support independent production through their craft categories.

IF Awards General Manager Clare Sawyer explains, “IF Awards are all about reflecting the views of movie audiences and as such the majority of our awards are decided by public rating. However we are also passionate about supporting young and independent filmmakers who may not yet be on the public radar but who are certain to make their mark in Australian film. The assistance of our panel members of industry experts is invaluable in helping us do this.”

Past Rising Talent winner Leon Ford, has gone on to international success with film and TV projects including directing the upcoming Griff the Invisible starring Ryan Kwanten. He says of the award, "The Rising Talent Award gave me a lot of confidence to keep going. Every bit counts, and a year later I was directing my first feature film."

The judging panel for the EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent includes Producer and Director Gillian Armstrong whose credits include Charlotte Gray, Little Women and Love, Lust and Lies; Rachel Ward Writer and Director of the IF Award winning Beautiful Kate; the winner of the Rising Talent Award in 2009 Dominic Allen; and EFilm’s Anthos Simon.

Anthos Simon says of EFilm’s support of the award, "The industry now more than ever needs to support good story tellers. EFilm works creatively with filmmakers to tell interesting and diverse stories that will engage with audiences. We are proud supporters of the rising talent award."

The judging panel for National Film & Sound Archive Independent Spirit Award includes Bridget Ikin Producer of My Year Without Sex, Look Both Ways and The Tracker; Ben Davies creator of Bondi Rescue; Meg Labrum Senior Curator, National Film and Sound Archive and Secretary General of FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives); and the winner of the Independent Spirit Award in 2009 Granaz Mousavi.

Entries for the 2010 EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent closes on Friday 23rd July 2010 and the Independent Spirit Award applications close on Monday 26th July 2010. For full application conditions and downloadable entry forms go to the Inside Film Awards website:

The 2010 Inside Film Awards is the favourite celebration of the Australian film Industry and the ceremony will be held in mid-November in Sydney.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *