Inaugural Northern Territory Awards for Cinematography Announced

07 July, 2014 by IF


The Northern Territory Branch of the Australian Cinematographers Society has announced the inaugural 2014 NT State & Territory Awards for Cinematography, to be held in Darwin on October 4 this year.
“The announcement of the NT Awards for Cinematography is a landmark moment in the emergence of the broader professional screen industry in the NT and recognition of the remarkable diversity of work being produced behind the lens right across the Territory” said ACS NT President Andrew Hyde.


The Northern Territory has a proud and unique history of storytelling, and the moving image, through filmmaking, has played a significant role via the work of our most esteemed NT cameramen and cinematographers including Warwick Thornton (Samson and Delilah) and Allan Collins ACS (Mad Bastards), along with scores of others, doing remarkable professional work in the fields of news & current affairs, documentary, corporate, commercial and educational filmmaking.

“The decision to conduct a wholly NT Awards is a positive, inspirational decision and reflects the nature of the Territory itself” said ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS.

“The State and Territory, along with the National Awards is the centrepiece of the work of the Australian Cinematographers Society and reflects the Society’s status as the largest screen industry representative body in Australia”. Cinematographers in the NT are a special breed, often working remotely in extreme conditions in some of the most remarkable locations on the planet, and they’re work deserves independent recognition” said Ron Johanson.

“We often hear the catch phrase ‘Share our Story’ about the Northern Territory and the NT Awards for Cinematography is a chance to recognise the storytellers, whose professional skill and craft help promote our special part of the world” said ACS NT President Andrew Hyde.

For more information on the Australian Cinematographers Society please visit;









  • acs