James Spigelman apointed new ABC chairman

09 March, 2012 by IF

Press release from The Hon Julia Gillard MP and Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy

The Hon James Spigelman AC QC will be the new Chair of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.


Mr Spigelman’s appointment was finalised today, and his five year term as Chair of the ABC will commence on 1 April 2012.

With more than 40 years of service to the legal profession and a fierce passion for the arts, Mr Spigelman will be an exemplary leader of the ABC.

He will lead the ABC at a time when the challenges and opportunities facing our national broadcaster have never been greater.

He brings a wealth of experience in the arts and culture, and will build on the work of the previous Chair, Maurice Newman AC, to ensure that the ABC remains at the forefront of the media in Australia.

Mr Spigelman was the 20th Lieutenant Governor of New South Wales and the 16th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of New South Wales. He is currently Chairman of the National Library of Australia Council.

His previous achievements include:

Chair of the Government’s Expert Panel on Constitutional Recognition of Local Government (2011);
President of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences (1995–1998);
Member of the Council of the National Gallery of Australia (1995–1998); and
Chairman of the Film Finance Corporation (1990–1992).

Mr Spigelman was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2000 for service to the law and to the community. In 2001, he was awarded a Centenary Medal for his contribution to Australian Society.

His appointment has been made under the Government’s merit-based appointment process for the ABC and SBS boards. The position was widely advertised and assessment and short-listing carried out by the independent Nomination Panel chaired by Mr Ric Smith AO PSM.

In accordance with the guidelines for the merit-based appointment process, Mr Spigelman was selected from the Panel’s shortlist in consultation with the Prime Minister. Legislation to entrench this merit-based appointment process is currently before Parliament.

The Government thanks Steven Skala for filling the position of Acting Chair of the ABC Board over the last three months.








  • abc