Press release from the IF Awards

The national people’s choice awards for Australian film are about to close entries to the Independent Spirit IF Award and the EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent.

The Rising Talent IF Award recognises and celebrates new talent in the Australian Film Industry. The impressive list of previous winners of the award includes producer Kath Shelper (Samson & Delilah), writer/director Matt Saville (Noise), and writer/director Andrew Lancaster (Accidents Happen).

The exceptional panel for the Rising Talent Award include My Brilliant Career Producer Margaret Fink; Little Fish Director Rowan Woods, EFilm Manager Anthos Simon and previous Rising Talent winners Leon Ford and Bonnie Elliot, as well as IF Magazine editor Brendan Swift. This will be the second year that EFilm presents this award. Efilm is a boutique and creative post production facility. Entries for the 2009 EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent closes on Friday 24th July 2009.

The Independent Spirit IF Award recognises an individual or small creative team who, despite limited resources or challenging circumstances, have demonstrated the creativity, tenacity and independence of vision required to make a compelling project of any length or genre. This award is also open to applications from new media producers. Past winners of The Independent Spirit IF Award include Julian Shaw (Darling! The Peter Dirk-Uys Story), Melanie Hogan and Bob Randall (Kanyini),and 2006 Australian of the Year Khoa Do (The Finished People, Footy Legends).

The submission deadline for the Independent Spirit IF Award is Monday 27th July.
IF is also excited to announce this years panel for Independent Spirit which includes Producer of The Black Balloon and Strictly Ballroom Tristram Miall ,  Director of Caddie Donald Crombie, last years Indy Spirit winner Benjamin Gilmour and Senior Journalist for the Inside Film Magazine Adam Coleman.

The Inside Film Awards will welcome the nominees for this award to Sydney. The winner will be announced during the glittering awards ceremony in front of a live audience of over 1,500 film industry professionals and broadcast on SBS TV and SHOWTIME. The Inside Film Awards will celebrate its 11th year on November 18, 2009 at Luna Park in Sydney and tickets are available. 
For competition requirements, conditions, prize details and downloadable entry forms, go to

For all media enquiries and interview requests please contact
Clare Sawyer
General Manager and Producer
tel: 02 8586 6192

The Inside Film Awards are produced by IF Productions, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Intermedia Group, publisher of Inside Film Magazine.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *