Screen Producers Australia announced today the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award is executive producer Des Monaghan, former executive producer of Screentime.

Also, Screentime, a Banijay Group company, is a Production Business of the Year finalist.

The Awards recognise the creation of outstanding screen content; celebrate the skill, accomplishment, imagination and passion of its Production Businesses; and aim to increase awareness of the role producers play in creating Australian screen stories for local and international audiences.

The Media Super Production Business of the Year is awarded to a Production Business that has produced an outstanding project or body of work, which has contributed to the advancement of the screen industry.

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Des Monaghan, is one of Australia’s leading and multi-award winning executive producers. For over half a century, his energy and excellence has transformed the screen culture of Australia and New Zealand, and established Monaghan as one of Australian television’s most influential figures.

This May, Monaghan stepped down as Executive Chairman of the Screentime group, following 18 years with business partner Bob Campbell, having produced many of Australia’s most celebrated dramas, including ANZAC Girls for ABC Television, the Underbelly franchise for the Nine Network and the critically acclaimed Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet series for Showtime Australia.

Across Monaghan’s career, he has delivered quality, dynamic productions in all genres, including telemovies, mini-series, long-form drama, comedy, serial drama and infotainment/reality, in Australia and internationally.

His role at Screentime follows positions as Controller of Programming and subsequently Director of Program and Production for Television New Zealand (TVNZ) Networks 1 and 2, and in the late 1980s, Monaghan set up South Pacific Pictures Limited before being appointed Network Director of Production and Program Development for the Seven Network in Australia.

Bob Campbell, Managing Director of Screentime, a Banijay Group company, said: “Everyone at Screentime – shareholders, colleagues and collaborators – congratulate Des on his well earned SPA Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Well done mate … and we have had some fun along the way," he continued.

The Award recipients will be revealed at the prestigious Screen Producers Australia Awards, taking place on Tuesday 18 November, 2014 from 6.30pm at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne as part of the 29th SCREEN FOREVER Conference.