Tanya Orman.

The Media Reconciliation Industry Network Group (MediaRING) has elected its first executive board, to be chaired by NITV channel manager Tanya Orman.

Formed in 2008, MediaRING brings together major media organisations with the shared purpose of leading positive change for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians in the sector.

Orman and an executive of eight were elected to drive the MediaRING into its next phase of becoming an incorporated body in 2016/17.

“Becoming an incorporated body gives MediaRING the opportunity to have more positive influence. You only have to look at our membership list to see the amazing representation we have and the goodwill media organisations have for our vision,” said Orman.

“The media industry is a powerful entity and we want to Indigenous Australians working in all aspects of it. Once we see diversity, we’ll see attitudes change and it will go a long way to contribute towards reconciliation.”

The executive includes the following:

  •     Tanya Orman – NITV (chair)
  •     David Beaumont – City of Sydney
  •     Kelrick Martin – ABC
  •     Brooke Pettit – Foxtel
  •     Patricia Powell-Hughes – EP Australia
  •     Lesley Power – SBS
  •     Kyas Sherriff – AFTRS
  •     Penny Smallacombe – Screen Australia
  •     Tracey Vieira – Screen Queensland


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *