Movie Extra Webfest 2.0 finalists announced

02 December, 2011 by IF

Press release from Nixco

MOVIE NETWORK CHANNELS are thrilled to announce the fifteen finalists* for MOVIE EXTRA WEBFEST 2.0:


Irresponsible Service of Alcohol
Rob Innes
South Melbourne, VIC

Idiot Cops
Kacey Baker
Caringbah, NSW

Alex Alexander
Surry Hills, NSW

Betty and Frank Will Have Sex
Julian Costanzo
Keysborough, VIC

Ultimate Fanj
Holly Austin
Surry Hills, NSW

Glace Chase v/s New York
Renae Moore
Woolloomooloo, NSW

Refuge City
Michael Robinson

Event Zero
Enzo Tedeschi
Ryde, NSW

Christiaan Van Vuuren
Cronulla, NSW

Third Base
Zoltan Deak
Chiswick, NSW

Sylvia Warmer
North Adelaide, SA

Spaceships, Robots and a Lot of Lasers
Andres Isaza
Yeronga, QLD

Bret Braddock Adventures
David Blumenstein
Caulfield, VIC

Cold Cold Ground
Steve Baker
Sherwood, QLD

Darren Moroney
Perth, WA

The finalists, chosen from over 80 entries, entered by pitching an original webseries idea via a 60 second trailer uploaded on to the MOVIE EXTRA WEBFEST Facebook competition page, which now has over 26,000 fans**.

With the support of Screen Australia, the winner of MOVIE EXTRA WEBFEST 2.0 will receive a $100,000 production budget to produce a seven part webseries for MOVIE EXTRA. The winner will be announced on 7 December, 2011 and the winning webseries will premiere on the Movie Network Channels YouTube channel 2010 winners Henry & Aaron's 7 Steps To Superstardom and additional commissioned animated web-series Shaaark! have already gained over 450,000 views on YouTube with the Movie Network Channels YouTube channel attracting over 8000 subscribers.

The winner will be selected by the official MOVIE EXTRA industry judging panel based on creativity and the performance of the trailer in an online environment. This year's industry judging panel includes Marc Fennell (film critic and Presenter, Producer and Reporter for ABC's Hungry Beast), Bradley Eldridge (Creative Director, Soap Creative), Mike Cowap (Investment Manager, Screen Australia), Emma Moroney (Supervising Producer, Movie Network Channels) and Christopher Berry (MOVIE EXTRA WEBFEST Executive Producer).

All finalist films from Movie Extra Webfest 2.0 can be viewed by heading to (click on the 'finalist' tab).
Voting for finalists commences today and will close on Tuesday 6 December at 12.00am (AEDST).