MRC films shortlisted for tropfest 2013

23 January, 2013 by IF

 Media release Miranda Brown Publicity



The Media Resource Centre is delighted to congratulate the South Australian filmmakers shortlisted for the 2013 Movie Extra Tropfest Film Festival and Trop Junior Festival. Three shorts have been shortlisted: mockumentary/comedy Agora, supported through the new First Shot initiative and How To Make A Horror Movie and Jumping Championships, both produced as part of the Screenseekers Tropfest Junior Bootcamp.


MRC Director Gail Kovatseff said “We’re thrilled at the success of these filmmakers, both young and emerging. We are proud to support them and wish them well for the next round”.


Young filmmaker and Agora director Neale Irwin said “The Media Resource Centre had faith in us, young film makers with shabby hair and no film credits, who wanted to make a film about a garage sale. But that's what's so exciting about the film industry in Australia. One minute you're messing around with a camera in your backyard, the next you're on the Tropfest shortlist".


The MRC’s First Shot production initiative aims to assist South Australian filmmakers develop and produce an engaging, entertaining short, between 5-10 minutes, in any genre. It is open to applicants who have not previously received screen production funding from any state or federal agency.. All filmmaking teams were supported with in-kind equipment and facilities totaling $2,500 per production.


The MRC’s Screenseekers Trop Jr.Bootcamp is for young filmmakers 15 years or under to make films specifically for entry to the 2013 Trop Jr Film Festival. This is the second consecutive year that short films produced under the MRC’s Trop Jr. Bootcamp have been short-listed.


The aspiring MRC young filmmakers are: Agora, Writer/Director Neale Irwin and Producer Pia West; Jumping Championships: Joshua Langman, Harper Robb, Ryan Campbell, Miles Bessis, Max Alan, Cameron Hildebrandt-Brooks, Fergus The, Ana-Mei Szetu, Daniel Vijoen and Imogen Lee and How to Make a Horror Movie: Matthew Robertson, Bodhi Stone, Charlie Anderson, Gina Cameron, Tallulah Robb, Gian-Luca Stirling, Daniel Calabro, Michael Calabro, Kane Holt O’Brien, Ruby Kerk.


The Tropfest and Trop Jr. finalists will be announced end of January and screened live on Movie Extra across Australia at The Domain in Sydney on Sunday, February 17, 2013.