Nicole Kidman and Simon Baker.

Nicole Kidman, Simon Baker, Deborah Mailman, Bruce Beresford, Nash Edgerton, Celia Pacquola, Aaron Pedersen, Tina Bursill, Wayne Blair and Leah Purcell are among the nominees who will attend the 2018 AACTA Awards in Sydney on December 5.

Host Stephen Curry will be joined by an array of presenters including Rebecca Gibney, Marta Dusseldorp, Jack Thompson, Sigrid Thornton, Shane Jacobson, Rodger Corser, Erik Thomson, Nazeem Hussain, Kat Stewart, Julia Zemiro, Gina Riley, Jane Turner and Magda Szubanski.

Among other attendees at The Star Event Centre will be Phoebe Tonkin, Isabel Lucas, David Berry, Shaynna Blaze, Susie Porter, Nicole Da Silva, Daniel Henshall, Melina Vidler, Sara Wiseman, Ada Nicodemou, Gracie Otto, Matt Okine, Madeleine Madden and Lily Sullivan.

After wrapping his 8-month, 83-date ‘Nation of Two’ world tour, Vance Joy will perform, as will five-time ARIA Award winner Katie Noonan in an ‘In Memoriam’ tribute.

Joel Edgerton and Simon Baker scored nominations in the feature film direction and acting categories for Boy Erased and Breath, the first time that’s happened in the same year in AFI | AACTA history.

Both titles have been nominated for best film and Edgerton and Baker are in the running for best supporting actor and adapted screenplay.

Beresford’s Ladies in Black leads with 11 nominations, Sweet Country nabbed 10, Breath received nine and Boy Erased garnered seven, including for Kidman as best actress and lead actor Lucas Hedges.

In the TV categories the ABC-funded Mystery Road from Bunya Productons and Werner Film Productions’ Riot top scored with 11 nominations apiece, including lead actor and actress, supporting actor, direction, screenplay, editing and original music score.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *