Nominees announced for 2016 Screen Music Awards

27 September, 2016 by Jackie Keast

The Dressmaker.


APRA AMCOS and the AGSC have unveiled the nominees for this year's Screen Music Awards.

The Dressmaker is out in front, up for Best Feature Film Score of the Year and Best Soundtrack Album, thanks to the work of David Hirschfelder.

Also up for gongs are well-known names such as Cezary Skubiszewski, Antony Partos, David Bridie, Michael Yezerski, and duo Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks.

The most nominated composers are Partos and Yezerski, up for four awards each for work across various productions.

First-time nominees include Darren Seltmann, a former member of the Avalanches, and his singer-songwriter wife Sally. Their song from The Letdown, ‘Dancing in the Darkness’, is up for Best Original Song Composed for the Screen.

Other new faces include Adam Moses, Nicholas Robert Thayer, Tristan Dewey, Helen Grimley and Anthony Egizii.

Winners will be announced November 8 at the City Recital Hall, Sydney. Emmy Award winning screen composer Ashley Irwin will lead a live orchestra that will perform a selection of nominated compositions, while The Chaser’s Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen will host.

The full list of nominees:

Feature Film Score of the Year

99 Homes composed by Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales

Crew Cut composed by  Timothy Cheel and Christopher Larkin

Oddball composed by Cezary Skubiszewski

The Dressmaker composed by David Hirschfelder

Best Music for a Documentary

Getting Frank Gehry composed by Caitlin Yeo   

Neon composed by Antony Partos
Putuparri and the Rainmakers composed by David Bridie, published by Mushroom Music
The Will to Fly composed by Tom Rouch, published by Native Tongue Music Publishing

Best Music for a Short Film

Banana Boy composed by Adam Moses

Daisy Chain composed by Hylton Mowday

Letting Blood composed by Nicholas Robert Thayer

Ravens composed by Michael Yezerski with additional music by Helen Grimley

Best Soundtrack Album

All About E composed by Basil Hogios   

Only the Dead composed by Michael Yezerski   

Sherpa composed by Antony Partos   
The Dressmaker composed by David Hirschfelder

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

‘Dancing in the Darkness’ from The Letdown, composed by Darren Seltmann and Sally Seltmann, published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia

‘Maurice's Big Adventure’ from Big Adventure, composed by Sean Peter, published by BC Music Publishing

‘Those Friends of Mine’ from Pawno, composed by Tristan Dewey, Tai Jordan and Mark Pearl

‘When You Were on the Run’ from No Activity, composed by Cameron Bruce

Best Music for Children’s Television

Bottersnikes & Gumbles: Up, Up and Away, composed by Michael Szumowski published by J Albert & Son and Cheeky Little Media

Mako: Island of Secrets: Homecoming, composed by Ricky Edwards and Brett Aplin

Transformers Rescue Bots: The Last of Morocco, composed by Christopher Elves, published by Mushroom Music obo Britteridge Publishing / BMG Platinum Songs

The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks
composed by Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin
Best Television Theme

Compass composed by Caitlin Yeo published by ABC Music Publishing
Here Come the Habibs composed by Kyls Burtland

Nos Youm composed by Peter Cavallo

Tomorrow When the War Began
composed by Cameron Giles-Webb and Colin Simkins, published by Universal Music Publishing obo Ambience Entertainment

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial

Glitch: There Is No Justice,
composed by Cornel Wilczek

Janet King: The Invisible Wound, composed by Antony Partos, published by Sonar Music

The Principal: Revolution School, composed by Roger Mason
Wanted: Series 1 Episode 6, composed by Michael Yezerski, published by Red Music Publishing

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

DNA Nation composed by Matteo Zingales
Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door composed by Michael Yezerski and Ashley Irwin, published by Shine Australia
Secret City composed by David Bridie, published by Mushroom Music

The Beautiful Lie composed by Alan John

Best Music for an Advertisement

2016 AICP Opening, composed by Jeremy Yang

Cadbury Marvellous Creations, composed by Rafael May
Country Racing Victoria: It’s Got it All, composed by Robert Upward, published by Mushroom Music

Rio 2016 Olympics composed by Sarah Aarons, Anthony Egizii, David Musumeci and Graham Donald, published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Allegro, Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia and Red Music Publishing
Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia

Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks

Jay Stewart

Neil Sutherland

Nick Perjanik

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas

Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks

Alastair Ford

Neil Sutherland

Ricky Edwards