The second season of award-winning series Redfern Now will commence filming in and around Redfern on May 1.

Produced by Blackfella Films’ Miranda Dear and Darren Dale, alongside story producer Jimmy McGovern, the second instalment of the popular series will see many of the cast members reuniting to play their original characters.

Those returning in season two include Wayne Blair, this year’s Most Outstanding Actress Logie winner, Deborah Mailman, Ursula Yovich, Lisa Flanagan, Stephen Curry, Dean Daley Jones and the AACTA Award-winning Leah Purcell. Adding to the mix will be Aaron Pederson, Craig McLachlan, Meyne Wyatt, Ernie Dingo, Steve Bisley, Sarah Woods and Tammy Clarkson.

The first season of the show proved to be successful both with audiences and critics, and was nominated for five AACTA awards in 2013 (taking home the awards for Best Screenplay in Television and Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama) as well as scooping the Most Outstanding Drama Award at this year’s Logies.

Sally Riley, Head of ABC TV’s Indigenous Department said, “Redfern Now season two will again be a highlight in ABC Television's schedule, with favourite characters returning, new families with dilemmas that will touch the hearts of audiences, and the wonderful storytelling by Australia's leading Indigenous creatives.”

The second series will be written by Leah Purcell, Wayne Blair, John Bell, Adrian Russell Wills and the AACTA Award-winning Steven McGregor, and directed by Wayne Blair, Leah Purcell, Rachel Perkins, Beck Cole and Adrian Russell Wills.

Miranda Dear said, “We are so thrilled to have attracted a cast and crew of this calibre. It is a testament to the power of the writing, the resonance of the stories and the success of the first season.”

Redfern Now is produced by Blackfella Films’ Darren Dale and Miranda Dear, and presented by ABC TV and Screen Australia in association with Screen NSW. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *