Oz dramas nominated for Golden Nymph Awards

20 April, 2015 by Don Groves

ANZAC Girls, Secrets & Lies and Love Child have been nominated for the Monte Carlo Television Festival’s Golden Nymph Awards.

Screentime’s ANZAC Girls and Hoodlum’s Secrets & Lies are in the running for best miniseries and Playmaker Media’s Love Child is up for best drama.


ANZAC Girls’ Georgia Flood is nominated for best actress in a miniseries and Love Child’s Jonathan LaPaglia and Secrets & Lies’ Anthony Hayes are vying for best actor in the drama and miniseries categories.

Aussie Frances O'Connor gets a nod for best actress for her work in the British miniseries The Missing.

The Monte Carlo TV Festival and Golden Nymph Awards were founded in 1961 by Prince Rainier III of Monaco to "encourage a new art form, in the service of peace and understanding between the people."

Last year Top of the Lake won three gongs: best miniseries and best actor and actress for Peter Mullan and Elisabeth Moss.

The awards are handed out on the closing night of the festival, which runs June 13-18. The full list of drama and comedy nominees:

‎Best TV film

The Witness House (Germany)
Public Enemies (Germany)
The Law (Germany)
Story of Hostages (Japan)
Marvellous (UK)

Best miniseries

ANZAC Girls (Australia)
Secrets & Lies (Australia)
1864 (Denmark)
A Family Secret (France)
The Missing (UK)

Best comedy series

Broke (Denmark)
B&B Magazine (Spain)
Don't Do This, Don't Do That (France)
Lillyhammer (Norway)
Crackanory (UK)
Welcome to Sweden (Sweden)

Best drama series

Love Child (Australia)
The Seaside Hotel (Denmark)
House of Cards (US)
Gomorrah (Italy)
Happy Valley (UK)
The Fall (UK)

Best actor in a TV film

Tobias Moretti, The Witness House (Germany)
Francis Fulton Smith, Public Enemies (Germany)
Toby Jones, Marvellous (UK)

Best actress in a TV film

Iris Berben, The Witness House (Germany)
Emmanuelle Devos, The Law (France)
‎Gemma Jones, Marvellous (UK)

Best actor in a miniseries‎

Anthony Hayes, Secrets & Lies (Australia)
Jens Saetter-Lassen, 1864 (Denmark)
‎Tcheky Karyo, The Missing (UK)

Best actress in a miniseries‎

Georgia Flood, ANZAC Girls (Australia)‎
Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, 1864 (Denmark)‎
Frances O'Connor, The Missing (UK)
Best actor in a comedy series

Steven Van Zandt, Lilyhammer (Norway)
Rik Mayall, Cranckanory (UK)
Greg Poehler, Welcome to Sweden (Sweden)‎‎

Best actress in a comedy series‎

Belen Rueda, B&B Magazine (Spain)‎
Isabelle Gelinas, Don't Do This, Don't Do That (France)‎
Josephine Bornebusch, Welcome to Sweden (Sweden)

Best actor in a drama series

Jonathan LaPaglia, Love Child (Australia)
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards (US)
Marco D'Amore, Gomorrah (Italy)

Best actress in a drama series

‎Robin Wright, House of Cards (US)
Sarah Lancashire, Happy Valley (UK)‎
Gillian Anderson, The Fall (UK)‎