Rossiter takes the top honour at ACS awards

27 May, 2013 by Staff Reporter

Jonathan Rossiter was named Australian Cinematographer of the Year at the 2013 ACS National Awards for Cinematography staged in Canberra on Saturday at Old Parliament House.

Rossiter shot the animated short film Sleight of Hand, directed by Michael Cusack for South Australian-based animation company Anifex. The short has been accepted into competition in the Nashville Film Festival, The Athens International Film + Video Festival and the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film in Germany.


Adam Arkapaw won the Golden Tripod for his feature Lore and Roger Deakins took the international award for Skyfall.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Australian Cinematographer of the Year
Jonathon Rossiter, Sleight of Hand
Inducted Into ACS Hall Of Fame
Peter Donnelly, Peter Hannan,Mike Molloy, Les Wasley
ACS Life Membership Bestowed
Peter Curtis, Nino Martinetti
International Award For Cinematography
Roger Deakins, Skyfall
NFSA John Leake OAM ACS Emerging Cinematographer Award
Dale Bremner
Best Student Cinematography
Tim Barnsley “Inferno” Gold Plaque

Experimental & Specialised
Jonathan Rossiter “Sleight of Hand” Golden Tripod

John Bowring TV Station Breaks & Promos
Sidat de Silva “Firedance” Golden Tripod

Music Videos
Edward Goldner, Kimbra, "Come Into My Head" Award of Distinction
Zoe White, Exit Music, "The Night" Golden Tripod

Single Camera News, Local & Regional
Adam Wilson "Muslim Protest" Golden Tripod

News Directors Award
Adam Wilson Seven News "Muslim Protest" Gold Plaque

Neil Davis International News
Matthew Allard "Skin Deep" Golden Tripod

Current Affairs
Lee Ali "Too Young To Work" Award of Distinction
Mark Dobbin "Yakuza" Golden Tripod
TV Magazine, Lifestyle & Reality
Simon Nicholls "Chef On The Road" Golden Tripod

Corporate & Educational
Miles Rowland "Future Health Leaders Conference Promo" Award of Distinction
Jason Wingrove "BHP – The Future is an Amazing Place" Golden Tripod

Documentaries, Cinema & TV
Ben Emery "Mustang – A Kingdom on the Edge" Award of Distinction
Dion Beebe "Zen of Bennett" Golden Tripod

Ron Taylor Wildlife / Nature
Malcolm Ludgate "Monster Bug Wars Series 2" Award of Distinction
Richard Fitzpatrick "Great Barrier Reef Episode 1" Golden Tripod

Virtual Cinematography
David Peers "Happy Feet" (Cinematographer Camera) Golden Tripod
David Dulac "Happy Feet" (Cinematographer Lighting) Golden Tripod
Commercials Local / Regional
Benjamin Shepherd "Morris Janks" Golden Tripod

Commercials National / International
Simon Ozolins Foxtel "Favourite Things" Award of Distinction
Daniel Ardilley "HSBC Rugby" Golden Tripod

Dramatised Documentaries
Jaems Grant "Australia On Trial – Mount Rennie Outrage" Golden Tripod

Fictional Drama Shorts
Jason Hargreaves "Beatlefeeders" Golden Tripod

Telefeatures, TV Drama & Miniseries
Toby Oliver "Beaconsfield" Award of Distinction
Dave Cameron "Bliss The Beginning of Katherine Mansfield" Golden Tripod

Features Cinema
Adam Arkapaw "Lore" Golden Tripod