‘Wrong Kind of Black’. 

Matchbox Pictures’ Safe Harbour, Princess Pictures’ Wrong Kind of Black and Synchronicity Films/December Media’s The Cry have received nominations for International Emmy Awards.

Safe Harbour, produced by Matchbox Pictures, has been nominated in the Best TV Movie/Mini-Series category. Broadcast on SBS, the asylum seeker drama series was directed by Glendyn Ivin and showrun by writer and producer Belinda Chayko, also featuring writers Phil Enchelmaier and Matt Cameron. It was produced by Stephen Corvini and includes executive producers Sue Masters,  Debbie Lee and Chayko.

The ABC iview-commissioned Wrong Kind of Black, from Princess Pictures, has been nominated for best Short Form Series. Based on the life and stories of Indigenous writer, poet and educator Boori Monty Pryor, the four-part series was directed by Catriona McKenzie, written by Pryor and produced by Kelly West and Melanie Brunt. Princess Pictures’ Emma Fitzsimons and Andrea Denholm were executive producers.

“It was such a privilege to make this film and this recognition is testament to the power of authenticity in storytelling,” says Denholm. “We acknowledge the remarkable Boori Monty Pryor and his family for sharing their heartbreak, humour and hope and congratulate the incredible team who brought this distinctly Australian story to the world. We thank the ABC,  Screen Australia, Film Victoria and Screen Queensland for their foresight and faith in the project. And thank you International Emmys!”

BBC and ABC co-production The Cry has been recognised with a nomination for lead actress Jenna Coleman for Best Performance by an Actress. The series was produced by Brian Kaczynski for Synchronicity Films and Stuart Menzies for December Media with executive producers Claire Mundell for Synchronicity Films, BBC One executive producers Elizabeth Kilgarriff and Gaynor Holmes. The Glendyn Ivin directed series was made in association with the ABC, BBC One, Sunbird Media, Film Victoria and Creative Scotland.

Over forty-four nominees across eleven categories were recognised from; Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Israel, the Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

“The diversity, geographic spread and quality of this year’s Nominees is a testament to the increasing wealth of outstanding television being created on a global scale,” said International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, President and CEO,  Bruce L. Paisner.

This year the Academy will also present two special industry awards celebrating the work of the showrunner and creators of Game of Thrones, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss and to Christiane Amanpour, currently chief international anchor for CNN and host of PBS’ nightly global affairs show Amanpour.

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will announce the winners at the International Emmy Gala ceremony in New York on November 25.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *