By Brendan Swift

Warwick Thornton’s indigenous drama Samson & Delilah scooped the Kodak Inside Film Awards in Sydney last night, taking home six awards including best feature film.

The eleventh annual awards, which are decided by public vote, also saw director Baz Luhrmann honoured with the Living Legend award after his epic Australia took the 2009 box office prize.

He becomes the youngest Living Legend, joining other industry standouts such as actor Hugo Weaving, director George Miller and editor Jill Bilcock. Three of the top ten local films of all time – Australia, Moulin Rouge! and Strictly Ballroom – have been directed by Luhrmann.

But it was Thornton’s low-budget masterpiece, which also won the Camera d’Or at the Cannes International Film Festival earlier this year, that stole the show.

While producer Kath Shelper accepted the award for best picture, Thornton received awards for best direction, best music, and best script. The film’s two lead actors, Rowan McNamara and Marissa Gibson, won awards for best actor and actress.

Political thriller Balibo won awards for best sound and editing while drama Beautiful Kate picked up the best cinematography award. Adam Elliot won best production design for his animated feature Mary & Max.

The independent spirit award went to the Iranian-shot My Tehran For Sale while producer and director Dominic Allen won the award for rising talent.

The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce won best documentary, The Cat Piano won best animation, and Mankind is no Island won best short documentary.

The awards will be broadcast on SBS tonight at 10pm.

Encore presentations will be shown on subscription TV channel Showcase (Friday at 11.30pm and Saturday at 5.40pm) and SHOWTIME (next Tuesday at 10.25pm and Wednesday at 9.25am).

The full list of winners:

The SHOWTIME IF Award for Best Feature Film
Samson & Delilah – Warwick Kath Shelper   

The TIME OUT IF Award for Best Actor
Rowan McNamara – Samson & Delilah   

The IF Award for Best Actress
Marissa Gibson – Samson & Delilah   

The Jameson IF Award for Best Script
Samson & Delilah – Warwick Thornton   

The Dinosaur Design IF Award for Best Music
Samson & Delilah – Warwick Thornton   

The National Film & Sound Archive IF Award for Best Direction  
Samson & Delilah – Warwick Thornton   
The Zig Zag Lane IF Award for Best Sound   
Balibo – Sam Petty, Emma Bortignon, Phil Heywood, Ann Aucote   

The AVID IF Award for Best Editing
Balibo – Nick Meyers   

The Dyson IF Award for Best Production Design
Mary & Max – Adam Elliot   

The Sony IF Award for Best Cinematography  
Beautiful Kate – Andrew Commis   

The Resolution Design Independent Spirit IF Award
My Tehran For Sale – Director: Granaz Moussavi Producers, Julie Ryan, Kate Croser, Granaz Moussavi   

The EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent   
Dominic Allen   

The Holding Redlich IF Award for Best Short Film   
Ralph – Director Deborah Mailman, Producers Jessie Mangum and Kylie Du Fresne   

The Autodesk IF Award for Best Animation   
The Cat Piano – Directors Eddie White & Ari Gibson, Producer Jessica Brentnall   

The Production Book IF Award for Best Short Documentary   
Mankind is No Island – Jason Van Genderen   

The FACB IF Award for Best Documentary  
The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce – Michael James Rowland, Producer Nial Fulton   

The Chaotic Pictures IF Award for Best Music Video   
Sway Sway Baby – Short Stack – Dan Reisinger   

The Cutting Edge IF Award for Box Office Achievement   
Australia – Baz Luhrmann, G.Mac Brown and Catherine Knapman   

The Kodak Living Legend IF Award  
Baz Luhrmann   

The TDC IF Award for Best Film Festival
Message Sticks Indigenous Film Festival

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *