Screen Australia announces Springboard recipients

02 December, 2009 by IF

Press release from The Lantern Group

Screen Australia today announced the five teams selected for the Springboard: Short Film Initiative.


Springboard targets filmmaking teams who are one step away from making their first professional feature film by offering them a unique opportunity to define, write and produce a short film that acts as a calling card to their proposed first feature project.

The five successful teams are:

• Drew Bailey (p), Luke Doolan (d), Matthew Dabner (w) with sci-fi thriller Cargo

• Charles Mitchell (p), Shane Armstrong (w), Shayne Kraus (w/d) with sci-fi thriller Tremula

• Liz Kearney (p), Zak Hilditch (w/d) with sci-fi drama These Final Hours

• Anne Robinson (p), Philip Middleton (w/d) with supernatural thriller The Disappearing

• Phillipa Campey (p), Paul Oliver (w/d) with conspiracy thriller Hound

“We are very proud to support this talented group, all of whom have strong film projects with real marketplace potential,” said Martha Coleman, Head of Development at Screen Australia. “Springboard is part of Screen Australia’s support for the next wave of Australian filmmakers, and I am thrilled to report that the high quality of submissions received for Springboard indicates that the future is looking very bright.”

The five selected teams will take part in two high-level workshops to develop and hone a short film proposal from scratch. Following these stages, Screen Australia will select the three most promising short film projects to go into production with a budget of $120,000. Screen Australia will continue to support the teams on the completion of their short film including providing festival strategy advice to assist the short film in being showcased at national and international festivals.

The program will be managed by Screen Australia’s Development Manager Mike Cowap who said, “Springboard provides an essential stepping stone in a professional filmmaking career path, and as such assists with career building for the long term.”

Springboard will be run by screenwriting teachers and script consultants Simon van der Borgh and Jonathan Rawlinson. Simon and Jonathan have previously designed and delivered film training programs for screen agencies in Australia, the UK, USA and Europe including the UK Film Council, the EU’s MEDIA Programme, The British Council and The Fulbright Commission. 

Springboard complements Screen Australia’s overall strategy to support the production of short film, including the Short Animation Production program, and a new Completion Fund targeted at distinctive short films that show outstanding potential but lack the funds to finish. Screen Australia also proudly supports the Raw Nerve initiative via partnerships with Screen Development Australia.