[Release by ScreenWest]

In yet another bumper year, eight Western Australian cinematographers have been recognised for their outstanding achievements in film, television and video productions at the 2008 Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) SA-WA State Awards.

A total of 11 Awards were won by local ACS members including three Gold, three Silver and four Bronze across categories TV Promos, Music Clips, Commercials, Documentaries and Fictional Drama Shorts.

Perth cinematographer Torstein Dyrting ACS won the Milton Ingerson Award for Best Entry, the most prestigious award presented at the SA-WA Awards each year, for his work on the WA documentary Spirit Stones. As well as collecting a Gold Award for the same entry, Torstein was presented with his Certificate of Accreditation, an honour entitling him to use the letters ‘ACS’ after his name.

Other big winners of the night included Ulrich Krafzik and Ian Batt who both won Gold Awards for their work and Jim Frater collected a Silver and two Bronze Awards. As Gold Award winners Torstein, Ulrich and Ian are automatically entered into the ACS National Awards to be held in May 2009. Other notable winners were Jason Thomas and Richard Malins acs who each received a Silver Award with Greg Knight and Ian Pugsley acs also picking up Awards.

The SA-WA Awards ceremony was held in Adelaide on Saturday November 1 and attended by WA ACS Branch Vice President Ricky Harvey and award winners Torstein Dyrting and Ulrich Krafzik.

Congratulations to all of the award winners!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *