SFF short film award winners named

15 June, 2010 by IF

Press release from The Lantern Group:

The winners in the 2010 Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films and the CRC Awards were announced tonight at the closing night of the Sydney Film Festival.


Winner of the Dendy Award Best Live Action Short is The Kiss, directed by Ashlee Page and produced by Sonya Humphrey.

Winner of the Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Director is Deeper Than Yesterday, directed by Ariel Kleiman and produced by Anna Kojevnikov, Benjamin Gilovitz and Sarah Cyngler.

The Festival’s Australian Short Film Awards were founded in 1970. The awards are currently sponsored by Dendy Cinemas with Dendy Cinemas and/or Dendy Films having sponsored the Awards since 1989.

“Dendy Cinemas is proud to have once again supported the Australian Short Film Awards and would like to congratulate the makers of The Kiss and Deeper Than Yesterday on their achievements” said Nick Hayes, National Operations Manager, Dendy Cinemas tonight.

Winner of the Yoram Gross Animation Award is The Lost Thing, directed by Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann and produced by Sophie Byrne. The Yoram Gross Animation Award, sponsored by Yoram and Sandra Gross, was first awarded in 1987.

“We are thrilled to support the emergence of great talent in our Australian animation industry and congratulate this year’s winner of the Yoram Gross Animation Award” said Sandra Gross, Yoram Gross Films.

The Live Action Short Award, sponsored by Dendy Cinemas, provides a $5,000 cash prize while the Yoram Gross Animation Award, sponsored by Yoram and Sandra Gross carries a $4,000 cash prize. Both awards are Academy Award eligible. Shortlisted films, along with Australian feature-length films with a multicultural perspective, are in line for the CRC Award, sponsored by the Community Relations Commission for a Multicultural NSW, with a $5,000 cash prize.

The Rouben Mamoulian Award, named after the Hollywood director who presented the first award in 1974 and also sponsored by Dendy Cinemas, carries a cash prize of $5,000 and will be presented to the best director from the 10 films in the Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films.

The Jury for the 2010 Dendy Short Film Awards was Steve Bisley (actor), Adam Blaiklock (Director Caught Inside) and Javier Fuentes-Leon (Director Undertow).

Winner of the 2010 CRC Award is Bad Language, directed and produced by Viron Papadopoulos. This award, founded in 1992, is sponsored by the Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW.

The results of the 2010 SHOWTIME Audience Awards will be announced this week.