Shortlist unveiled for Melbourne Web Fest-ABC iview initiative Pitch Perfect

24 June, 2016 by Staff Writer

Deakin Edge, Federation Square.


The shortlist has been unveiled for Melbourne WebFest's live pitching comptetition, a joint initative between the festival and ABC iview.

The competition received 120 submissions on the theme ‘Anytime, Anywhere’ and shortlisted 15. 

Those 15 participants will have just two minutes to pitch their original web series idea to a live audience and judging panel at Fed Square's Deakin Edge on July 2.

In addition to the shortlisted pitches, guests attending will have an opportunity to submit a wild card entry during the weekend by tweeting to a hashtag that will be announced once the wildcard entries open on Thursday June 30.

Five wild card entries will be invited to pitch on the spot during the event along with the shortlisted 15.

Pitches will be judged on script potential, creativity and audience reaction by a panel of judges, which will consist of Rick Kalowski (ABC Head of Comedy), Kevin Mountain (Content Manager, ABC iview), John Cabrera (Gilmore Girls, H+: The Digital Series), Craig Batty (screenwriter/academic) and Steinar Ellingsen (MWF Director).

The event will be MC’ed by Heather Maltman (I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here, Now!, Unindian).

The winner will receive $5,000 towards professional development and attending Marseille WebFest, where they will participate in a writing residency to develop their pitch to the ABC. The residency will take place from 17 – 22 October. 

The winner of Pitch Perfect will be announced at the awards ceremony on 3 July.

Shortlisted submissions:

Jade of Death by Taylor Litton-Strain

Crown of Thorns by Steve Callen

Door to Door by Tom Burton

Jack of All by Kerry Glennon

Viking Mama by Jenny Wynter

Reaping by Rory Pierce

Early Bird by James Vinston

Nick of Time by Ben Nicholas and Ric Forster

When to Expect What You’re Expecting by Matt Smith

Gonads by Julian Costanzo

Off the Grid by David Elliot-Jones

Ms Mighty by Hayley Adams and Sean Carney

Single-Serving Life by Steve Palfreyman

Commission by Joshua Hemming

Parra Wirra by David Farrington

Go here to read the full 50-word submission by each of the shortlisted entries.