The Water Diviner and The Dressmaker dominated the feature categories at the 19th Australian Screen Sound Guild Awards held at The Establishment hotel ballroom in Sydney.

Russell Crowe’s drama won the prizes for feature film soundtrack of the year, best sound design and ASSG members’ choice for best film soundtrack.

Jocelyn Moorhouse’s dramedy was feted for best film sound recording and sound mixing .

The Syd Butterworth lifetime achievement award went to James Currie, whose career spans 38 years and includes A Month of Sundays, Charlie's Country, Red Dog, Ten Canoes, Man of Flowers, Incident at Raven’s Gate and Bad Boy Bubby.

The Principal was named best sound for a TV drama series while Deadline Gallipoli – episode 2 was best sound for a telefeature and Only the Dead best documentary sound.

The Greg Bell student encouragement award was given to Alex Gastrell, a recent North Sydney TAFE graduate.

The full list of winners:

The Greg Bell Student Encouragement Award
Alex Gastrell

Best Sound for a Television Commercial or Promo
Black Rice
Lachlan Harris

Best Sound for an Animated Short Film
The Orchestra
Markus Kellow
Jamie Messenger
Doron Kipen
William Gardener

Best Sound for a Short Fiction Film
Ric Curtin
Glenn Martin

Best Sound for Interactive Media
Circuits Sequential
Peret Von Sturmer
Ben Batt
Danielle Weissner

Best Sound for Lifestyle, Reality or Live Television
Shane Delia’s Spice Journey
Gary Lacroix
Paul Walker
Damian Jory
Blake Guy
Liesl Pieterse

Tied with

Tony Robinson’s Time Travels – Rebels With A Cause
Tristan Meredith

Best Sound for a Tele-Feature
Deadline Gallipoli – Episode 2: Truth & Lies
Robert Mackenzie
Liam Price
Jed Dodge
Justine Angus
Tara Webb
John Simpson
Lisa Simpson
David Hughes
Des Keneally
Josh Williams
Travis Williamson

Best Sound for a Televison Drama Series
The Principal
Robert Sullivan
Ian Neilson
Ben Anderson
Grant Shepherd
Todd Kirkness
Todd Moore

Best Sound for a Documentary
Only The Dead
Steve Burgess
Leah Katz
Andy Wright
Chris Goodes
Diego Ruiz

Andrew Plain Award for Best Sound Design
The Water Diviner
Wayne Pashley
Libby Villa
Derryn Pasquill
Sonal Joshi
Emma Mitchell
Fabian Sanjurjo
Rick Lisle
Andrew Miller
Mario Gabrielli
Beth Bezzina
John Simpson
Ryan Squires
Lisa Simpson
Tony Wall

Syd Butterworth Lifetime Achievement Award
James Currie

Members' Choice for Best Feature Soundtrack
The Water Diviner

Best Film Sound Recording
The Dressmaker
Andrew Ramage
Dan Giles
Paradox Delilah

Best Film Sound Mixing
The Dressmaker
Chris Goodes

Feature Film Soundtrack of the Year
The Water Diviner

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *