SPAA announces 2010 DigiSPAA Feature Film finalists

13 October, 2010 by IF

Press release from Tsuki

The Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA) is proud to announce the finalists for the 2010 DigiSPAA Feature Film Competition sponsored by Movie Network Channels. An unprecedented number of entries were received for the competition this year, reinforcing DigiSPAA’s position as Australia’s premier digital film competition.


Says SPAA President and DigiSPAA Co-Curator Antony I. Ginnane: "6 years old, DigiSPAA has now firmly established itself on the Australasian calendar as the premiere competitive event for up-coming, under-the-radar feature film makers to spotlight their talent and move up (if they choose) into the commercial mainstream.”

"Talent like Khoa Do, Kristian Moliere, Jason Byrne and John L. Simpson have emerged from the DigiSPAA ranks as producers and creators to be reckoned with” Ginnane continues.

“This year, with a record-breaking 28 entries from Australia and New Zealand, the DigiSPAA ecosphere has exploded with innovation, reflection and diversity. DigiSPAA exists to fill a need and it continues to satisfy that need.”

The 2010 DigiSPAA Feature Film Competition finalists are as follows:

· Little Sparrows, directed, written and produced by Yu-Hsiu Camille Chen (Subiaco, WA)

· The Fall Guys, produced by Rhys Cain (Howick, Aukland, NZ)

· Roadman, produced, written and directed by Peter Leovic (Skye, SA) and produced by Stephen Prime (Cumberland Park, SA)

· I Wish I Were Stephanie V, produced by Laura Sivis (Westleigh, NSW)

Adds Ginnane: "The range, diversity, quality and originality of this year’s 4 finalists for the DigiSPAA 2010 SPAARTAN Award speaks as to the vibrant intensity of the low budget/no budget Australasian feature film sector.

From New Zealand's crime thriller with a twist The Fall Guys, to Western Australia's subversion of the death in the family concept with Little Sparrows, and from South Australia's doomed love story Roadman, to the New South Wales ethnic comedy romance I Wish I Were Stephanie V, our independent filmmakers are embracing genre like never before. It's been an exciting year.”

Little Sparrows, directed, written and produced by Yu-Hsiu Camille Chen, is a simple and sincere celebration of life and the unconditional love of a mother. Camille’s debut feature film follows three sisters who are forced to make tough decisions when their mother’s breast cancer returns and they must face the reality of their last Christmas together. Little Sparrows has received accolades from festival screenings including the Sydney Film Festival, Melbourne International Film Festival and Cinefest OZ, and it has recently been accepted to screen at the International Rome Festival as part of the official selection and in competition.

Produced by Rhys Cain, The Fall Guys is a gritty, New Zealand based crime comedy about three mid-twenties college buddies who come into possession of three cases of premium grade heroin. The story is told in flashback as each of the men are interrogated by police, and as the story unfolds, pushes them deeper and deeper into a world they clearly know nothing about.

Roadman, produced, written and directed by Peter Leovic and co-produced by Stephen Prime, tells the story of a tormented serial killer who falls in love with his neighbour and allows himself to believe she can save him from his demons.

I Wish I Were Stephanie V, produced by Laura Sivis is an ethnic comedy that follows Helen, a 21 year old virgin being raised by her matchmaking Greek grandmother. It’s Helen’s dream to play tennis and win Wimbledon, but life has other plans for her as she is confronted with the reality of arranged marriages, young friends living with HIV, and love in many different forms.

The finalist films will be screened at this year’s SPAA Fringe conference on 22 and 23 October at the Powerhouse Museum, Ultimo, and two grand finalists will be selected by an expert industry panel of judges including Antony I. Ginnane, President of SPAA and IFM World Releasing Inc.; Geoff Brown, Executive Director SPAA; Daniel Scharf, Producer of Geoffrey Wright's AFI Award-winning Romper Stomper; Colleen Meldrum, Program Director, Movie Network Channels and Stacey Edmonds, Producer/Director of I Know How Many Runs You Scored Last Summer.

The Grand Prize winner will be announced at the annual SPAA Conference on 17 November at 9.00am. The winner receives the 2010 SPAARTAN Award and will walk away with over $50,000 worth of prizes, including $10,000 in equipment hire to turn their filmic dreams into a reality. The winner will also get $15,000 in cash and $20,000 worth of post-production courtesy of Movie Network, a guaranteed screening of their film on the Movie Extra channel, plus a return airfare and free registration to the prestigious CineMart International Film Festival Rotterdam.

Thanks to the generous support of Camera Collective, the winner of the 2010 DigiSPAA competition, will have access to equipment and services including 35mm & 16mm Cameras, Red Camera Kits & Accessories, DSLR’s (Canon 7, 5 & 1D’s) High Speed Digital Cameras and Lenses with all the latest accessories.

DigiSPAA is a creative project of the Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA) an industry body that represents Australian independent film and television producers on all issues affecting the business and creative aspects of screen production.