The Kiss was awarded Best Short Film at the The St Kilda Film Festival 2011.

Director Ashlee Page and producer Sonya Humphrey received a $10,000 cheque courtesy of the City of Port Phillip at last night's closing ceremony, hosted by Glenn Robbins, at the Powerhouse in Albert Park. Page also received the award Best Director.

Sixteen titles from among the top 100 films eligible shared in over $40,000 worth of awards at the festival.

Festival firector Paul Harris said the high standard of entries is evidence that Australian filmmakers "are second to none in creatively exploring the short film medium" while Mayor Rachel Powning said the City of Port Phillip was proud to hold another fantastic fesitval.

The award for Best Animation went to Oscar-winner The Lost Thing, directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan and produced by Sophie Byrne.

The award for Best Comedy went to When the Wind Changes, directed by Alethea Jones and produced by Richard Davies and Veeran Naran, while Just Desserts directed by Nigel Karikari was highly commended.

The Top 100 shorts were judged by a panel of experts including Leilani Hannah, Jock Healy and Rebecca McLean.

The full list of award winners are (except for the Top 100 Audience Award winner, which will be announced later):


Best Short Film Sponsored by the City of Port Phillip ($10,000)
The Kiss Directed by Ashlee Page, Produced by Sonya Humphrey

Craft Award Sponsored by Film Victoria ($1000)
Suburbia Directed by Antonio Oreña-Barlin, Produced by Richard Halsted

Best Director Sponsored by Dogs Bar ($1500)
The Kiss Directed by Ashlee Page, Produced by Sonya Humphrey
Highly commended: Via Gori Directed by George Barbakadze, Produced by Lazaro Hernandez & Scott Gustetter

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking Sponsored by Open Channel ($2000 in-kind)
Minnie Loves Junior Directed by Andy Mullins & Matt Mullins, Produced by Tom Birch & Doug Maskiell

Best Documentary Sponsored by The Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) ($1000)
Waste Not Directed by Ruth Hessey, Produced by Sophie Alstergren

Best Animation Sponsored by Madman Entertainment ($1500 product)
The Lost Thing Directed by Andrew Ruhemann, Shaun Tan, Produced by Sophie Byrne, Animated by Leo Baker & Tom Bryant

Best Comedy Sponsored by Gasinc ($2000 in-kind)
When the Wind Changes Directed by Alethea Jones, Produced by Richard Davies & Veeran Naran
Highly commended: Just Desserts Directed by Nigel Karikari, Produced by Donna Lyon

Best Actor Sponsored by Chameleon Casting ($1000)
Punch Drunk Reg Gorman
Highly commended: Drowning Miles Szanto

Best Achievement in Cinematography Sponsored by Cinema Nova ($500+$1700 in-kind)
Minnie Loves Junior Cinematography by Ian Jones ACS
Highly commended: The Kiss Cinematography by Nick Matthews

Best Achievement in Screenplay Sponsored by Profile Creative ($500+ representation)
Via Gori Screenwriting by George Barbakadze

Best Achievement in Editing Sponsored by Digital Pictures ($1500 in-kind)
Toot Toot Edited by Cleland Jones

Best Achievement in Visual Effects Sponsored by Complete Post ($1000 in-kind)
Moving Day Visual Effects by fxphd

Best Achievement in Sound Post Production Sponsored by Music and Effects ($2500 in-kind)
Roman’s Ark Sound Design by Seth Larney

Best Original Score Sponsored by Monkeesee ($3000 in-kind)
The Telegram Man Composed by Petra Salsjo

SBS Television Award Sponsored by SBS TV (offer to purchase film for broadcast)
Suburbia Directed by Antonio Oreña-Barlin, Produced by Richard Halsted

Under the Radar Sponsored by City of Port Phillip ($1000 JB Hi-Fi voucher)
The Venting Place Produced & Directed by Natalie James

SoundKILDA – Best Music Video Award Sponsored by Videocraft ($2000)
Beautiful Trash by Lanu featuring Megan Washington
Directed by Lucy Dyson. Produced by Lucy Dyson

SoundKILDA – Best Animation Award Sponsored by SPAA ($500)
Ain’t in that Grave by Nighttown
Directed by Louella Pleffer. Produced by Louella Pleffer

SoundKILDA – Best Independent Award Sponsored by Music Managers Forum ($500 plus representation)
Northcote (So Hungover) by The Bedroom Philosopher
Directed by Craig Melville. Produced by David Curry

SoundKILDA – Audience Award Sponsored by National Film & Sound Archive ($500)
Always Coming Down by Cordrazine
Directed by Stephen Carroll, Produced by Tobias Webster

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *