Stars collide for IF Awards gala

05 November, 2008 by IF

On Thursday 13 November stars of the Australian film community will step out in ‘a touch of gold’ at the 10th annual Inside Film Awards, the people’s choice awards for Australian Film.

The glittering ceremony on the Gold Coast will be hosted by SBS RocKwiz queen Julia Zemiro, while celebrities strutting the red carpet will be welcomed by the effervescent Max host Yumi Stynes.


The line-up of presenters handing out the awards on the night include; Underbelly stars Vince Colosimo and Marcus Graham; Best Actress nominee Maeve Dermody; the delightful Daniela Farinacci; TV host turned columnist Sophie Lee; the girls from Satisfaction – Kestie Morassi and Diana Glenn; Barry Otto and daughter Gracie Otto; Oscar winner Eva Orner; rocker Tex Perkins; the much loved Sigrid Thornton; Bogan Pride’s Rebel Wilson; and Aden Young.

The IF Awards are always an entertaining, celebrity packed and irreverent night. After the 21 awards have been handed out in the action-packed 90 minute format, talented songstress Kate Miller-Heidke will perform the acoustic version of her hit "Can’t Shake It" for the IF Award audience and the live broadcast on SBS TV.

Presenters will each receive the much sought after IF gift pack valued at over $3000 – with incredible goodies inside, including; a SONY Cybershot Camera; a selection of products form god’s Thermodynamics hair beauty range; a Dinosaur Designs bracelet; SHOWTIME Satisfaction DVDs; WHO subscription; a gift from Del Aqua Hair & Beauty; a Timeout subscription; Madman DVDs; chocolates from Ferrero Richer; Palace Cinemas Movie passes; a bounty of MAC Makeup; a beautiful Mariat bracelet; Gwinganna hardcover cookbook; tickets to Moonlight Cinema; a subscription to The Production Book, plus more.

Well known and loved Australian actors, actresses and filmmakers will be gracing the glittering red carpet – among them some eager nominees, including; Elissa Down, Jimmy The Exploder and Rhys Wakefield who will be flying their Black Balloon; Benjamin Gilmour and Carolyn Johnson will be walking their Son of a Lion; Dutch leading lady Monic Hendrickx and Peter Duncan will be there supporting Unfinished Sky; John L Simpson, Michael Joy and Grant Dodwell will be there cheering for Men’s Group; rising talent Maeve Dermody will be dressed to impress along with the team behind Black Water – Andrew Traucki and David Nerlich plus more …

Don’t forget to keep your eye on the red carpet for our special guest who will be presented with the IF Award for Living Legend this year!

Celebrating its 10th year in 2008 the Inside Film Awards celebrate and champion Australian film and creative talent as decided by the general public.

The 2008 event takes place on 13 November at the Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast, Queensland. The ceremony will be broadcast live on SBS Television with delayed telecasts also screening on SHOWTIME.